Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cyber Village Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thankful for ALL of the wonderful teachers at CVA! Love the learning atmosphere & the support that students give each other too! CVA makes learning personal and takes every student's strengths and weaknesses into account to help them grow and broaden their horizons!

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have attended CVA, and we have been parents there for 8 years. While there are some struggles because it is a small K-12 charter, the staff is very responsive and many of the teachers and staff have been there since we arrived. We love that Science Fair and History Day are school-wide activities and that there is ample opportunity for kids to be involved in clubs, activities, talent shows, etc.. A couple of years ago, we had a parent focus group session for accreditation purposes. In almost every instance, parents had brought their kids to CVA because they had been bullied at other schools. In many cases, the kids themselves asked to go to CVA because of their reputation as an open, accepting environment. I am a very happy CVA parent.


Cyber Village Academy 2

Posted August 11, 2014
- a community member
Online charters typically attract 1. Pre-professional kids in piano, skating, other and need the flexibility of an online school while valuing discipline/high academics. 2. Those who did not for whatever reason, fit into traditional school and can often bring a host of social/behavioral issues with them (and parents who expect the charter to deal with the demands) & can greatly affect the school culture and quality of the class experience. CVA seems disproportionately saddled in middle and high school with the latter. This strains the social fabric and strength and lessens joy daily in relationships. We experienced great differences in work load and communication with teachers. Sometimes wholly insufficient and totally overwhelming with unrealistic goals for the child resulting in much stress. However, the headmaster seems very willing to improve outcomes/child experience and work with families, but he results of new planning remain yet to be seen. Teacher quality runs the gammet. One female in particular is a bully. Outdoor play and offline experiences need to be more highly emphasized for better well rounded kids, as do hand crafts. Children learn through authentic play.

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at CVA and we couldn't be happier for our 3rd and 5th graders. The only challenge is for families to figure out how to orchestrate Thursdays and Fridays which are online days, but the study center is open so if kids do need to be school that is always in option. Other than that, it is full steam ahead! Project based learning, teacher collaboration, open communication, students working at their own pace, friendly kids, small personal classes, no bullying, great teachers, great leadership. And cool projects for such a small school -- science fair, history day, project citizen, mini-society, school musical, talent show, community volunteer fair, PE and art/music every onsite day, field trips. We could not be happier! It's like a private school hiding out as a charter school. Kids do pull from all over the Twin Cities so it can be hard to connect with school friends and other parents, and they're working on that. There is also a learning curve with the technology and tracking projects but we got the hang of it after about a month and my kids are producing great work and so independent on Thursdays and Fridays. They are empowered and confident. Love CVA!

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2012
- a parent
Our student started this year and LOVES this school. The teachers are all involved and great at motivating students to learn. They do a great job of communicating with students and parents when concerns or questions arise. They readily see not just where the students need to improve, but also their strengths as well. They really focus on the learning and research process--connecting ideas, concepts, discussions through several disciplines. Since starting this school, our student has not complained once about going to school, which is WONDERFUL because other schools were "boring" and went at a too slow of pace. This school allows students to proceed at the pace they are able to and places them where they are at academically (not by an age or grade level). This is great because students might be better and learn more quickly in some subjects than in other subjects and this allows them to reach their potential. The online class days are very specific on expectations and assignments but teachers are avail. to answer any questions.


Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a parent
CVA is a great school! It s very personal. The teachers and staff are extremely dedicated. They have been very flexible, patient and supportive in helping my child through a very tough couple of years. They are very responsive to the needs of individual children. I think they are almost as excited to see the improvement as I am. The small size of the school promotes a close and positive environment. The teachers are very involved and spend a great deal of time outside of the classroom leading various extracurricular activities including sports, clubs, music, camps and even trips out of state. CVA supports the kids on project such as Science Fair and History Day by breaking it down, giving weekly assignments to progress through to the end, and supporting it throughout the curriculum. They really teach them HOW to do it. They don't just assign it and say 'Have it completed in 3 months. See ya then!' The school promotes community involvement by encouraging community service and compassion for others. At the end of the year there is a community service fair in which the kids share their experiences.

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
My son just started school at CVA this year. He was miserable at his old school last year so we wanted a school that had smaller class sizes and would work with him on his anxiety issues. He loves school, loves the teachers and is excited about learning again.

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
This school over the past 3 years has impressed me more and more each year. The environment is very much so like a village. It's a smaller school and the classrooms are not packed. My children get the attention they need and they love their teachers.The kids learn team work, they do so many great hands on projects and are learning more than I ever thought they would. One of my children is receiving some special ed services and the teachers are so in tune with her that she is surviving very well and gaining more and more confidence every day! I could just go on and on about all the great things at this school, but I guess it's just better if you visit and check it out for yourself! You have to see it to believe how great it is!


Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
We are so impressed with Cyber Village Academy. The curriculum is rich and in-depth; the teachers are supportive, knowledgeable and accessible; the students are respectful, friendly and generous. This is the third year our son has been in the school. We just love it!

Cyber Village Academy 5

Posted November 27, 2010
- a community member
I am an 8th grader currently attending CVA. This is easily the best curriculum I have ever seen in any school. The teachers are very supportive, and they get involved with students instead of just giving them work. The fusion program (3 days on campus, 2 days online) is a brilliant and well-executed idea. The social life at CVA is also very good; most of the students are friendly. It is easy to make long-lasting relationships here. Overall, CVA is a great school, the teachers are great people, and life here is great in general. I am very sad that I have to say goodbye at the end of the year (as I am graduating), and look forward to keeping in touch with teachers and all the wonderful friends I have made here!

Nearby schools

Cyber Village Academy
768 Hamline Ave South, Saint Paul, MN  55116
(651) 523-7170
Last modified Cyber Village Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top