Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
638 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted December 28, 2015
- a parent
We have had students at St. John's for the past 7 years and have never regretted our decision to invest in the academic and character education of our 2 children. The school is such a welcoming and nurturing environment - the teachers and administration know and care about all of the students and there are many opportunities for the older grades to interact with the younger grades, which strengthens the sense of community. The academics are excellent - the teachers identify and work with parents when kids need extra help or need to be challenged and can tailor their education to individual needs, without making it obvious to the other students. We have experienced excellent lines of communication with everyone at the school and have always felt like we have been heard. Class sizes are smaller than other schools in the area, so that is great, too. Academics aside, we are so happy with the reinforcement of our family values every day at school. There is weekly mass that the grades plan and participate in, plenty of opportunities for service projects and an overall environment of respect - classroom disruptions have never been anything that we've had to worry about.

St John The Baptist Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
Teacher effectiveness does require effort and engagement by the parents. It is a partnership and if parents feel their teacher is not as effective as they'd like, they should re-evaluate their level of collaboration with the teacher.


St John The Baptist Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
It is extremely important that parents are also working to develop these life-long values at home, or children will not appreciate what the school does work so hard to reinforce.

St John The Baptist Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
It is extremely important that parents are also working to develop these life-long values at home, or children will not appreciate what the school does work so hard to reinforce.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
In no particular order: Small class sizes. Individualized attention and care given to each student and his/her family by staff and teachers. Engaged, involved, and caring parents/families. Supportive and familial community. Integrated prayer in every school day and at every school event. Values-based education, students are learning how to be GOOD and KIND people. Extremely supportive parish and pastor. Service to the greater community. All of this is worth every penny of our investment in our children's education at St John's!!


St John The Baptist Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
Small class size has allowed the teachers to give our son a little needed attention in creative writing when his confidence was lagging.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
We currently have two children at St John's and really love the school. We are very fortunate to live in an area with terrific public schools but St John's has been a terrific environment academically and socially for our kids. The SPIRIT program designed by teachers continuously instills respect of self & others where I am very proud of the 'people' my children are becoming. The principal & director of education complement each other's strengths and have had open doors to talk about concerns or even just ideas for school betterment. We have befriended numerous great families thru volunteering & feel lucky to know our kids classmates as well as we do (no concern over play dates!). The diversity within the school was a pleasant surprise - different religions, cultures, economic backgrounds....not the stereotype we envisioned before enrolling. The teachers are outstanding as well - proactive if they see an issue in coursework or even just on the playground. There is a lot of power in an email or call from a teacher letting you know when your daughter had a tough day and might need an extra hug. But it's also been great when they have called or sent a note home with a little extra praise for the day. St John's helps raise AWESOME kids!

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My son goes to school at St. John's and he loves it! The teachers and the principal are truly amazing. The academics are outstanding, the teaching of values and morals are important to us as parents and this school does an excellent job! I am so thankful to be a part of the St. John's family!


St John The Baptist Catholic School 1

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
One teacher can make all the difference - good or bad. In our case, it was the latter that prompted us to leave St. John's. It took several months in a new school for our child to recover from the emotion and psychological damage this one teacher had wrought while our child attended St. Johns. Thankfully, and for the sake of future students, this teacher has left the school, but not before having fooled a great number of people into believing that she was competent and skilled enough to work with young minds. As mentioned in a few previous posts, we also found a great deal of physical and emotional bullying among students, but there again, it starts with how a teacher manages the classroom and appropriately addresses the situation. It also matters greatly how a teacher treats the students, and in our case, we had a teacher who was abominable-towards both myself as a parent as well as towards my child. If you are looking for a truly caring and enriching learning environment for your child, a better choice, we have found, has been St. Michaels in Prior Lake. Great teachers and staff, and an overall warmer and more welcoming environment.

St John The Baptist Catholic School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
St. John the Baptist Catholic School is an outstanding school with excellence in education as well as catholic faith and teaching skills to succeed in life. The teachers are kind and attentive to students needs. The school supports timely technology improvements with a rapidly changing IT world. My children are very happy at SJB and have many quality friends with good manners and morals, reinforced while they are at school. I highly recommend St. John the Baptist school for any student. I have also enjoyed many hours volunteering and I have gotten to know many children of all ages, as well as their parents. This has been a wonderful experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Baptist Catholic School
12508 Lynn Avenue, Savage, MN  55378
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (952) 890-6604
Last modified St John The Baptist Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top