Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
Our family moved to the Shakopee school district three years ago. Our daughter started 7th grade at West Junior High. Her initial impression was just alright - she was concerned with the environment, ie. drugs, etc. But right from the start, we could see that the teachers were incredible. The entire staff was responsive when we voiced our concerns about the general atmosphere as well as specific academic concerns. Each year our daughter has found special teachers to become her mentor and counselor. Our daughter came to the Shakopee district as a "on-the-line" average student for standardized testing (MAP). Due to the excellent teachers, she has improved her scores tremendously. In 8th grade, her Math teacher took special interest in her. Through this teacher and my daughter's effort, she brought up her MAP score 13 points - going from average to near exceeding standards in one academic year! She is now a freshman and continues to maintain her academic excellence, participate in sports and serve on the National Junior Honor Society. Our daughter has recognized her gifts and talents by attending this school.

Shakopee West Junior High School 4

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
I was disappointed with some of the 7th grade teachers at Shakopee West Junior High. Most of my son's teachers actually cared aboyt his progress in school and would send me emails on a regular basis, letting me know if there were any issues, like missing assignments or acting out in class to positive feedback. Other teachers, (science) would not return emails if there was a question or concern, and when spoken to at parent/ teacher conferences came off as arrogant and didnt really care if he understood the class or not. The school district should focus on quality teachers for all their schools before trying to get money for a new one.


Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
The school offers a positive atmoshpere, great teachers and a variety of course levels that challenge students and prepare them for the future.

Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shakopee West Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
The only negative I have to say about the school is that the teachers try to hard to be friends with the kids as opposed to an authority. To often my child comes home with a stories about what is going on in the teachers personal life or what they did over the weekend. I do not feel this is appropriate classroom discussion. Some of the discussions should not even be shared outside of the classroom for that matter


Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
I think this school is just wonderfull all the teachers are nice disapline need more work tho :)

Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
A very good school with an excellent curriculum.

Shakopee West Junior High School 1

Posted June 07, 2009
- a community member
In my perspective I don't think this school has an overall good atmosphere. I think that it is an unsafe learning enviornment.


Shakopee West Junior High School 1

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shakopee West Junior High School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shakopee West Junior High School
200 10th Ave East, Shakopee, MN  55379
(952) 496-5752
Last modified Shakopee West Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shakopee West Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top