Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shakopee Area Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 862 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Shakopee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2013

We had a fair to negative experience at SACS. A large majority of the staff have themselves on a high pedestal and possess a sense of entitlement. I volunteered often and overall, the atmosphere in this school is not the best. I heard on more than one occasion, teachers putting students down, followed with an eye roll. There is a tight "clique" among some staff, including the principal, and you will not be treated the same unless you are "in" with them. The principal has a strong aversion to conflict resolution and does not deal well with parents unless they are wealthy or athletic, otherwise you will not be worth his time. There is a strong sense of resentment and tension between the Paras and teachers. The office staff is not welcoming, but make you feel like you are intruding on their private gossip session when you walk into the office. Most importantly, the curriculum is inadequate. Here our child was in "high" math, but in public school, struggled to catch up. Prices increase so much each year that it is not affordable anymore. Class sizes are NOT 17, they average around 26 students. The "president" is rude, unapproachable and rarely smiles. There is a lot to be desired here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

The environment of this school is wonderful, but the education is not. I went to SACS preschool-eighth grade and then went to Shakopee Public Schools. I really regret not leaving SACS my 7th grade year and so do a lot of my friends. We were behind in many classes and just unprepared when we attended the shakopee junior high. SACS is lacking in their education, a lot. Especially in mathematics.


Posted November 21, 2012

Best School in Twin Cities. Both my boys attended and would highly recommend. Take a tour. Check it out. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I currently have three children at SACS. We have over eight years' experience with the school. The staff has always been professional, responsive and personable. I'm pleased with the school's academics, values, leadership, and as of recent years, extracurricular activities such as sports, clubs, music and service opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

My child has been going to SACS for three years now and we love it. My child had problems with bullies too, and it was brought to Mr. Briemhorst attention and the problems was fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

While on the surface SACS seems like a good school, it has been a huge disapointment for our family. This year the children in 7th grade had only 1/2 a year of L.A. Plus, if these kids were in band they missed every other day of LA. The kids also have science twice a day in the second semester. When my son attended this school, he had a hard time with all the bullies. It was brought to both teachers and the principal, Mr. Briemhorst. We feel that the staff did not handle the situations properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I have 2 girls at SACS and LOVE the school. Lots of parent involvement, volunteer opportunities for parents and children, great values, personable, friendly, and caring administration and teachers. Good relationship with the public schools in Shakopee for middle school students. Good academic environment. Cindy Justice, parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

I beleive that the greatness of a school starts at the top with a principal that takes responsibility and is not afraid to say it like it is. Diane Lee, SACS principal is exactly that. I beleive she truly cares about the well being of my two children and that she is willing to to whatever in her power to help them to be successful acedemically and in life. SACS is a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

SACS is a wonderful school. I have two children attending and both love it. They like the teachers and staff. The staff is always very available for you or your children. You are not a number to them. They get to know you! Everyone is treated equal here and my children are learning! I credit their school for creating such wonderful little people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Black 4% 9%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2700 17th Avenue East
Shakopee, MN 55379
Phone: (952) 445-3387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT