« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Shoreview, MN
Students enrolled: 781

Contact this school

3555 Victoria St North
Shoreview, MN 55126

School website
(651) 621-7000
(651) 621-7005
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Island Lake Elementary School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
December 16, 2013
Island Lake Elementary is a wonderful school. And Mr.Durand is truly an outstanding principal. The school deserves its top rated status.

- submitted by a parent
May 22, 2011
I went to Island Lake from '94 to '99. I was diagnosed with a disability in high school and looking back, I would say I was treated very poorly about my deficiencies. The teachers were very intolerant of kids with learning disabilities. I was slower at learning how to read than most people and I was not compensated at all for that. The teachers complained and just assumed I was being lazy and didn't care. Suburban kids are very jealous of each other and they can be difficult to get along with. Parents can be very snotty too. The teachers there were certainly not the worst, but looking back I would say the experience was far more negative than positive.

- submitted by a community member
May 05, 2011
Island Lake is by far one of the best schools I have set foot in. Each and every teacher cares more about their students and I find it a privilege to work here. Our school has worked hard to instill a positive behavior reinforcement approach - our students run our morning television newscast each day, students are given Wolf Pride tickets when they demonstrate acts of cooperation, assertion, responsibility, empathy, and self-control. We hold monthly assemblies to promote CARES in our children, have numerous activities for students to participate in, hold monthly food drives and spirit days, and have an amazing parent volunteer population. At Island Lake, teachers meet the demands of rigorous testing imposed by the nation, state, and district all while working to develop relationships with their students. The office staff is a delight to work with, whether you're a parent with a question or a teacher with a request. If I lived in the attendance area, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to enroll my child at Island Lake - and that's coming from someone who has worked here for years and knows the ins and outs, who knows the staff well, who knows what's REALLY going on inside our walls.

- submitted by a teacher
November 05, 2010
Island Lake is an awesome school. All of my children have excelled here. Staff develops appropriate challenges suited to their ability. Parent involvement is excellent, yet I'm never made to feel guilty if I don't have time to volunteer. The PTA is active and provide lots of opportunities for community building.

- submitted by a parent
July 19, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 02, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 16, 2009
My child is in the second grade at Island Lake, and his teacher has been nothing but wonderful. I have found the curriculum to be both challenging and optimized for learning. The communication between school staff and myself has always been exceptional, with updates via email and telephone.

- submitted by a parent
January 26, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
December 10, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
April 06, 2008
The teachers in my childs grade seem a bit impersonal and sometimes down right cold. The school its self feels a bit dingy and could use some good energy. My childs test scores are well above average but the teachers don't seem to do anything to keep my child challanged.

- submitted by a parent
January 09, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: December 16, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Island Lake Elementary School
3555 Victoria St North, Shoreview, MN  55126
(651) 621-7000
Last modified Island Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Island Lake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top