« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

Contact this school

1141 Lepak Ct
Shoreview, MN 55126

School website
(651) 621-7700
(651) 621-7705
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Turtle Lake Elementary School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
December 04, 2014
We moved here because of the schools this neighborhood is assigned. Yes, we were that thorough. My son is now at Mounds View High School. Turtle Lake laid the foundation for his success. Such a warm, welcoming place. Extremely dedicated teachers. I can't say enough good things about Sandy Collins and the orchestra program. My son is now exploring a dual degree, one of them music, and I know that this is because of Sandy's dedication and high expectations. Mrs. Hunt, Mrs. Bell both challenged my high achiever, but also were just good adult mentors for him. Mrs. Arell made a hard year for our son much easier. She was kind and firm and helped him learn responsibility. Now, we had one clinker, but hey, we all learned from dealing with her! This group of teachers really cares about kids and they go out of their way to try new things to individualize learning for each student. The school health aid was a delight and helped our son with a comforting place where he could regroup. The administration and support staff were all wonderful. We made the right decision to move here. Home prices are much less than other highly rated districts, so it really was a no brainer.

- submitted by a parent
August 12, 2014
Turtle Lake is an incredible school. It is a joy as a parent to watch my children be so excited about learning. The teachers are fantastic and they are always looking for ways to make it even better, so it just keeps improving. We know so many families that have moved to this school or switched from a private school in the past year and they have all been so happy.

- submitted by a parent
April 06, 2014
Turtle Lake is a wonderful school. I know many families that moved into the area specifically for the school. Parents are involved. Teachers rally together to ensure kids who are struggling catch up, and kids who need more challenging material are given it. My 2nd grader is "behind" and there is a whole team working with us to make sure she is given the right support in her academics and social skills. I'm proud to say my children attend Turtle Lake.

- submitted by a parent
March 16, 2014
I have three children in Turtle Lake, all at different levels of academic strength . TL has been able to adapt or challenge all of my kids to meet their needs. The involvement with parents and the community is outstanding. We moved into this school district for the great schools and we continue to be impressed and amazed at the dedication and compassion of the staff and teachers for our children.

- submitted by a parent
February 01, 2014
Turtle was an excellent school, that is the entire reason my husband and I moved to the area. With test scores falling, poor leadership and increased enrollment, the school is taking a downward turn. Their test scores continue to drop. three years ago they were ranked as #12 in the state. Our children are high potential, but not being challenged. However, they do love the extra drawing and doodling time. Because our children have been "lost" multiple times we are looking at multiple private schools in the area. Safety is a concern for us as the administration recently forgot to tell the teachers the school was working on the fire alarms. The alarm went off and the students were lead out in below zero weather without coats. We know many families who have left Turtle Lake in the past year and we are next.

- submitted by a parent
January 31, 2014
Big school, big goals, big achievement! Turtle Lake has been so helpful with our gifted son by challenging him in advanced reading and math classes. It's a large school, yet friendly. International in scope and attendance. Wide variety of specialty classes and activities. Zoned in the higher income areas of Shoreview and North Oaks. Community involvement is excellent. Currently building with community donations a playground "for everyone," an inclusive playground for physically challenged kids. We considered privates like St. Paul Academy, Liberty Classical and Mounds Park and found them excellent, yet insular. Turtle Lake is come as you are, but come to learn from the dedicated teachers, who are getting younger every year, from our observations.

- submitted by a parent
May 22, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 26, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 12, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 13, 2006
I have had 4 children go throught this school. The only problem I saw was old teachers waiting out their time to retire and we lost young enthuiastic teachers due to cuts. Other than that it is a great school! 10/10 for academic probably the highest parent involvement of any school i have seen.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: December 16, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Turtle Lake Elementary School
1141 Lepak Ct, Shoreview, MN  55126
(651) 621-7700
Last modified Turtle Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Turtle Lake Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top