Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Williams Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
ED Williams is a wonderful, community-based school. Our kids went there for 4 years and I really can't say enough about the principal, teaching staff and special education instructors. They are dedicated to the academic performance of the kids but also there development as individuals both socially and emotionally. The parents are fabulous and the school is a warm community. Their CARES program is excellent, and the kids are great. As a mom with a special needs child, I can also say their IEP process if amazing. No more tears, and my child is now pretty much at grade level performance. If you're looking for a school that educates the whole child and values individuals and community, EDW is for you. I am so sad relocating is taking us away from here. I hope our new school can live up to our expectations from EDW.

Williams Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for all the great work you have done at EDW! Learning is both academic and social, and the community for parents is fabulous.


Williams Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The performance improvements of both my kids reflect this as well as their personal growth. Having one with special needs, I'm very proud of my son's success. EDW helped him reach grade level performance.

Williams Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Focus is placed on developing your skills and trying new things. Students are encouraged to academically reach their best as well as socially.

Williams Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
See my previous comments on CARES program. Absolutely--better than any other school I've seen. Compassion and empathy are part of everyday at school.


Williams Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
EDW's CARES program is wonderful. All the kids know it and live it every day. They talk about it all the time and kids receive CARES recognition cards for showing these traits. It's a wonderful way to positively encourage compassionate treatment of all kids in school.

Williams Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
My son is finishing his first year at Edw. We couldn't be happier with the teachers and leadership there. So far 5 stars. Highly recommend.

Williams Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
EDW Is an amazing school. Teachers and administrators are very engaged in student success (both emotionally and intellectually). There is great open communication and the school values of caring, assertion, responsibility, empathy and self control are woven into everything students and teachers do. As someone who works in many schools in neighboring districts I know we have something special at EDW. It's a wonderful community with amazing teachers, parents, students, and administrators all dedicated to the success of all students. We love this school!


Williams Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
My children have gone to EDW since preschool (5 years now). Couldn't be happier with the school. Very engaged principle who knows every child by name. Love the small size giving me a chance to know most of the other children and the teachers. I'm sorry another parent had an issue with bullying. When there were incidents involving two of my children the school stepped in immediately. They didn't just say it wasn't allowed. They also set up times for both the parents and children to meet to work it out. If I could improve anything with EDW, it would be smaller classroom sizes and exposure to a second language.

Williams Elementary School 1

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
this school has a high tolerance for bullying. The teachers talk way too much about there personal info in front the students. They're irresponsible and don't pay attention to the children's needs. I say run for the hills from this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Williams Elementary School
955 West County Rd D, Shoreview, MN  55126
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (651) 482-8624
Last modified Williams Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top