Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Vianney School

Private | PK-6 | 128 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South St. Paul

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2010

All three of our children attend SJV. We are extremely fortunate to have found this school when we moved to the area. The entire staff and other parents are very involved which breeds an environment of success. We have also expanded our network and met many great people. I cannot say enough good things about this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Oldest child (now in 9th grade) attended preschool through 6th grade. Middle child (currently in 6th grade) attended preschool through present. Youngest (currently in 4th grade) attended preschool through present. All three have enjoyed every minute. The entire staff has helped them grow both educationally and spiritually. Great value. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Our family loves SJV! The teaching staff and administration are focused on the student as a whole (spiritual, mental, physical and academics). Athough the total focus is not soley on academics I feel the curriculum is second-to-none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

St. John Vianney, what a blessing in our community. High learning standards, helpful staff, teachers go above and beyond. I am proud to have my child learn and grow here at SJV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

My son is a 5th grader at SJV and started attending at the beginning of 4th grade. He loves going to class there. The tuition is extremely reasonable and the staff is the best around. I have only amazing things to say about our experiences with SJV. My one regret is that we did not start attending sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

My daughter (now a 5th grader) has been going to St. John Vianney since she was a preschooler. We are not members of SJV (we're actually members of a UCC church), but we send our daughter to SJV for the small class sizes and the one-on-one attention she gets from the teachers. The education she has gotten at this school is second-to-none and my experience with children from this school is that they are modest, respectful, and self-sufficient. I'm so glad we made the decision to send her to SJV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I went to SJV and now my children go to school there. My kids are taught by some of the same teachers that taught me! I love that the classes are small and that the teachers are very devoted to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Small class size, devoted and caring teaching staff, great student to teacher ratio, diverse student body, faith centered education. A hidden treasure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

St. John Vianney School has an excellent preschool program. It is appropriate for any Christian children, not just Catholics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 73%
Asian 9% N/A
Hispanic 9% 7%
Black 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1815 Bromley Street
South St. Paul, MN 55075
Phone: (651) 451-8395

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jefferson Christian School
South St. Paul, MN


St. Croix Christian Academy
South St. Paul, MN




Special Education Esy
South St. Paul, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT