Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter came to Capitol Hill as a seventh grader, five months ago. She is thriving and absolutely loves it. She's made friends easily and is very happy. The teachers are good, especially the exceptional history teacher, David Howard, and the orchestra teacher, John Middleton. Homework is very manageable. Good diversity. Yes, it would be nice if classes were smaller -- but that's not the school's fault, it's the fault of a district that doesn't value gifted & talented kids for anything other than bringing up test scores.. The only real negative here is the principal, Patrick Bryan. He is totally out of touch with parents -- won't return phone calls or emails. But the middle school administrator, Tim Williams, is great, and elementary parents rave about Grace Raymond. Good sports and lots of other opportunities. We're pulling our younger daughter out of her (excellent) school next year and sending her to Capitol Hill.

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
My middle-schooler is not highly gifted, like some of the kids here are, but she is excelling here. The arts classes are exceptional and so are most of the basics. The seventh grade English program is a little weak -- kids should be writing much more. There is a dynamic parent group and while they aren't real welcoming, they are very involved and work to make the school a community. Sports are good and the kids are mostly friendly to newcomers. The administration, most notably the notoriously unreachable principal, has a ways to go in order to assist the great teachers in succeeding. This year the administration really harmed History Day, a school tradition, by scheduling tons of testing in the computer lab, which meant that the kids had a tough time doing their research. Principal seems more interested in being front and center when something's successful than he does in getting down into the trenches to support the teachers and make sure the kids come first. He's very unfriendly to parents and no one really knows what he does all day! The school district is not blameless either -- they don't give the school adequate staffing, hiding behind a myriad of excuses.


Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
This is a strange, disconnected, cold institution. Little to no sense of community. Kids shuffled around like cogs in a machine. Emphasis on producing work and projects, but very little attention to quality or mastery. My kids are pushed along with the sea of students here, but I find that they have major skill gaps in math, grammar, reading comprehension, and writing. Specialist courses in the lower grades are of very low quality. Accelerated opportunities in math are misleading. The classrooms, busses, and cafeteria are overcrowded. Teachers are NOT supported by the administration. After many years here, very few adults in the building know my kids or recognize their strengths or weaknesses. All this adds up to a poor, unhappy, and at times even uncivil learning environment.

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 2

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
Interesting reviews here. I have two children at this school. While I agree that being at CH is a relief compared to being at other SPPS in terms of academic levels and for my kids to be surrounded by other G/T kids, the downsides are very real. Overcrowding in the lunchroom, busses and classrooms creates stress and a prison like environment. The administration takes a very "us against Them" approach to the parents who try to advocate for their children. I agree with the other reviewers who don't entirely trust the principal. He does not respond to email or phone calls. He does not hold himself accountable. Parents are tired of the uphill battle. CH is seen as an elite school and yet it is one of the least funded schools in the district. A parent had to provide a printer for the 6th grade so, they could do their history day work. Junior high is another story. 40 plus kids in classes. The principal is growing the school as fast as he can which translates to insane stress levels as they race through the halls, skip lunch (no time) and fend for themselves socially. This school, like the other SPPS schools breed aggressive, disrespectful, stressed out kids.

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I'm amazed by the number of negative reviews posted here. To those individuals that don't appreciate the fact that their children have been accepted into this highly-selective school, I say this: pull your children out of CH to make room for families that are on the waiting list, because there are lots of families that would be thrilled to send their kids here. My child was flagged G/T in kindergarten, yet wasn't selected to attend CH until 3rd grade. In that time he languished at a mainstream SPPS elementary where he wasn't allowed to work to his ability (he was much more advanced than his classmates in a few subjects, and the G/T services there were pathetic), thus he was bored and hated school! After getting into CH, his life changed: he is finally doing challenging work in a fast-paced environment, he is finally allowed to work to his ability, and he loves learning! CH isn't perfect, but compared to what mainstream elementary is like for G/T students in SPPS, it's a godsend! If you are a parent of child that qualifies for CH, then you really ought to put CH as your first choice - don't bother with a mainstream school because it cannot offer to your child what CH can offer!


Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 2

Posted November 09, 2013
- a community member
Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo the rate of this school has highly dropped since I last rated this school. The school has way to many students crammed in there to the point where it is not a safe place when the students in middle school travel through the hallways. If you are considering picking Capitol Hill as your child's school i would say don't pick the school unless your child is starting at 1st grade, because if you don't start your child at first grade entering the school will be difficult because all the kids there have entered at first grade and you are quickly thrown into the outcast.

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 3

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
I've had three children attend Capitol Hill. The school maintains a rigorous pace using a parallel curriculum in all subjects. If your child can maintain the pace within this type of curriculum, it's great. If not, forget it, gifted or not. Classes are large and there's no room or time to slow down for anyone. For those who can maintain the pace, this is a good school. For those who cannot for any reason, much of the value of the curriculum is lost. Homework is excessive in all grades from most teachers. As a parent, prepare to be very involved in getting it done. Don't bother to inquire about the amount, you'll be told to buck up and get used to it. From experience, I can tell you that the homework does not really prepare your student any better for high school. The current principal is an unusual man who does not respond to parents or to reports of bullying. The District is adding students to the school to keep them (and the dollars) in the District and the total population of the school (grades 1-8) is now over 1100 students. Classes range in size from 25 -32 students. The school offers lots of enrichment opportunities after school

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
My 6 YO got tested in to Capitol Hill and I was debating if I should have him stay at his French Immersion school so he can be fluent in french by grade 6 or go to the GT school. My son has ADHD and I'd get calls from his teachers on how he was misbehaving. I am so glad that I chose Capitol Hill. His new teacher is AMAZING and caters to his behavior trying new things with him to help him learn and focus. Great school and great teachers (Ms.Brzinski)!


Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Capitol hill school is amazing school with amazing teachers, when my son was little behind in his reading at 2nd grade. Ms. waskosky was behind him in every little step he took. How is going to 4th Grade as a good Readers. Thanks a Lot !!!!

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo 1

Posted June 01, 2013
- a parent
The Principal doesnt give you a very good feeling of your child being safe when being bullied. 2nd grade teacher (mrs young) pushes the kids too hard. She gives stop and think sheets for everything, EVEN for not finishing your work in class. Once she finds a kid to pick on-she really rips on them. The ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT CAPITAL HILL was 1st grade with Ms Brizinski! SHE IS AN AMAZING TEACHER!!!!! THANKFUL I was finally able to get my child out of that school. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL SOLEY FOR THE PRINCIPAL alone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo
560 Concordia Ave, St. Paul, MN  55103
(651) 325-2500
Last modified Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo is a Public school that serves grades 1-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Capitol Hill Magnet/Rondo Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top