Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
St. Paul, MN
Students enrolled: 391

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Horace Mann School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I love the Horace Mann community! My daughter is in a looping class here, which means her teacher, Ms. Rice, will remain with her for Kindergarten and 1st grade. Ms. Rice is a spectacular teacher, she is enthusiastic, accessible, caring, and has high expectations for the kiddos. My daughter loves going to school here and I have seen her academically and socially grow so much since she started. The students are fabulous and their parents and guardians are very involved. Jim Litwin is a great principal, he is a very visible figure in the school and he seems to know every child by name. Horace Mann has the charm and friendliness of a small town school in the big city of Saint Paul:)

Horace Mann School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy at Horace Mann. The students all seem to get along and the teachers there are quite willing to meet and discuss any issue with parents. Parent involvement is high. Following up on a previous post, parents in this neighborhood interested in flaunting their status would most likely choose the many private school options in the area rather than choose urban public schooling.


Horace Mann School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough about this school. We have two children at Horace Mann now and they both really love it. I read a review earlier that said the children don't learn "empathy or other desirable personality traits"? That's just such a strange comment. First because I don't look to a school to form my child's personality but even so the school has such a community feel, the children ARE nice to one another and there is a total LACK of status, which is exactly why we love this school. The school partially achieves this by having morning meetings in the classrooms. Each morning the kids sit down together and talk about anything on their minds, they learn to respect one another's views and really get to know one another. My kids consider every one of their classmates a friend. Which can make things difficult when you're trying to send birthday party invitations :) But otherwise it's fantastic. The teachers we have had are great and the principal is really involved. I think he works to create an environment where all the children feel welcomed, the parents like being involved in activities and the teachers feel appreciated.

Horace Mann School 3

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
Horace Mann has some good things going for it. But the kids are not nice to one another. There is a distinct lack of empathy that I haven't seen in any other elementary school. There is a great deal of unchecked privilege. If you're solely interested in academics and social status, this school will be just what you're looking for, but if you want your child to learn empathy and other desirable personality traits, look elsewhere.

Horace Mann School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
A traditional neighborhood school like in the 50's, where the principle and teachers knows the name of nearly every student and the teachers welcome parent interactions and involvement. The school is simply amazing and offers activities I have not seen in other elementary schools. My 1st grader was involved in Chess Club and learned social interactions as well as sportsmanship, also how to play the game. This school is more of a community than a school. Horace Mann delivers the quality education typically found in a private school. If you live in Highland Park, you have to send your child to this school.


Horace Mann School 5

Posted June 06, 2010
- a parent
Horace Mann is a wonderful school - we have had great kindergarten and first grade teachers. The other parents are very friendly.

Horace Mann School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
The neighborhood is wonderful, the teachers so friendly and caring. Our whole family felt connected with the school and my child left there with a very solid, nurtured base for his next stage of education in Jr High/middle school.

Horace Mann School 5

Posted October 08, 2004
- a parent
This school is a gem! The teachers know each student and are welcoming to all parent interactions and involvement. Lots of parents volunteer at the school in various ways. The kids are kind to each other, behave respectfully, and feel really engaged, valued and safe at the school. There are tutoring programs to help kids who are behind in subjects, and additional enrichment programming both in the classroom and in special additional classes for kids who are advanced. There are parent-led art and music programs, in addition to the vocal music instruction and band program which are led by faculty. The principal is approachable, responsive and much loved by all the kids. This school is a little gem!


Horace Mann School 5

Posted May 19, 2004
- a parent
We love Horace Mann Elementary! This is a traditional neighborhood school nestled right in the heart of an idyllic St Paul residential area. Neighborhood children walk to school while students in the attendance area who live more than a mile away are bused to and from the building daily. Core curriculum subjects are taught by an exceptional teaching staff resulting in among the highest test scores in the district. A gifted and talented program of distinction assists in challenging students and helping them further develop academically. The caring and supportive environment nutures all aspects of the childrens' social growth. This truly is 'A small learning community where every teacher knows every child.'

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann School
2001 Eleanor Ave, St. Paul, MN  55116
(651) 293-8965
Last modified Horace Mann School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horace Mann School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top