Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
St. Paul, MN
Students enrolled: 197
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 115 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


124 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avalon School 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Avalon School for the last 3 years (starting in 7th grade) and we could not have chosen a better school for him. He is a non-traditional student that is self-motivated, self-disciplined, inquisitive and unique in every way. Avalon's passion-focused/project-based structure plus it's dedicated and resourceful teachers, advisers and staff make for a winning school outcome for students that need something more than a traditional school can offer. My son is only a freshman but is on track to meet his graduation standards ahead of schedule so he can start working on post-secondary courses during his junior year. Avalon provides a safe, bully-free school setting where kids can explore their academic and social lives with confidence and grace under the caring guidance of educators committed to their students and the Avalon community.

Avalon School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
Avalon is an excellent choice for a wide variety of learners. Our daughter was homeschooled until high school, is fiercely independent & working to graduate early Avalon has been a perfect fit.. She loves the project-based format. Students are in an Advisory group for their high school years. The Advisors meet daily with students, guiding their projects and overseeing goal setting. We love our daughter's Advisors! Avalon encourages students to engage and become their best selves, giving them both independence & guidance to achieve their goals.


Avalon School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
Avalon is an amazing school, and we are so lucky to have found it. My son is mildly autistic, and while he never really hated school, he found it very stressful and tiring before we found Avalon. He loves everything about Avalon, and that has made it easier for him to really grow there. He is more responsible now, and the independent projects are definitely starting to get him to understand the real joy in learning things for their own sake. It is an amazing community, and just the best learning environment for kids that I have ever seen in action.

Avalon School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Avalon is an outstanding school!!! I have never met such committed, creative, enthusiastic, unique, knowledgeable, respectful and truly student-oriented teachers/staff than the teachers/staff at Avalon. They demonstrate and role model extremely high quality, organized leadership which in turn creates a safe, enriched, growth-promoting learning and social environment for the diverse population of Avalon students. Parent involvement is warmly welcomed, highly encouraged and is paramount to the success of the students and to the overall awesomeness of the Avalon community. Avalon School is amazing!!!

Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Avalon School has been the choice for four of my five children. Avalon is a true community of learning. It is a school that appreciates free thinkers, challenges one to become something more than they imagined and a place of peace and love. The environment helps to create well rounded citizens. Avalon is home.


Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
My son began attending Avalon last year as a member of the first 6th grade class at the school. He had a great experience and looked forward to school everyday, and is looking forward to heading back for 7th grade this fall. Avalon is a place where he feels accepted and can comfortably be himself, and where he can pursue his interests via his project work. As a parent, I really appreciate the school's community approach and the responsive communication between parent, child, and staff. I also appreciate how Avalon promotes a culture of both personal responsibility and collaboration. Most of all though, I am so happy to see my son in a school where he feels welcome and excited to learn.

Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Our self-declared "school hater" switched from a large public HS to Avalon last fall. He still struggles with motivation and deadlines but for the first time in a long while he feels "okay" with going to school and likes his school environment. He has a couple of years left to go and we hope that Avalon can help him grow to embrace the power of learning and knowledge once more before he heads off to college. The teachers/advisors do a great job holding students to their self-determined goals and running the school cooperatively. They accept students' quirks, even when those make it ever so much more difficult to help the students succeed. We feel lucky to have been offered a spot when things were looking drab, and we are excited to look forward with Avalon by our student's side. Avalon supports struggling & frustrated learners like ours as well as highly prepared learners who want more freedom to explore and grow beyond what the public schools can facilitate.

Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids started 7th grade at Avalon. If you went to a regular junior high school you know how brutal and spirit crushing kids can be at that age. I have always told my kids that who they are is good and you hope the world treats them as kindly. Avalon does. You can tell when you walk in and you see kids dressing and acting exactly like who they are, not like every one else.


Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Avalon is a wonderful opportunity for youth to feel accepted and become part of a caring community. My student has learned a great deal in her areas of interest, made huge personal strides and has become an excellent student. All thanks to Avalon. Devoted and knowledgeable staff are part of the magic. Add commitment to each student's unique gifts and a model that allows students to create a meaningful learning plan that is going to work for them and you've got Avalon.

Avalon School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
From our first tour we felt welcome and could sense the staff and students were happy to be at Avalon. The culture at Avalon is very inclusive. Everyone is welcomed with open arms. Students are encouraged to be themselves and be their best. The teachers at Avalon meet the students where they are, but keep the bar high. It is a school that is focused on learning and achieving. Project-based learning meant our son could challenge himself, not just check the standards box. The teachers at Avalon provide guidance and help the students find the resources they need to do challenging projects. There is an amazing chemistry at Avalon that fosters curiosity, learning and support. The school is teacher-run, so the question of principal leadership is not relevant. If more kids had the environment and culture at Avalon, more kids would succeed to become learners and achievers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avalon School
700 Glendale Street, St. Paul, MN  55114
(651) 649-5495
Last modified Avalon School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avalon School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 124 reviews. Top