Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aquila Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2011

Our three children have all attended Aquila Primary and we absolutely LOVE it. The teachers are outstanding and the special ed services are great! I have bragged to parents of kids from other districts how lucky we feel to have our kids at Aquila, and I highly recommend it to people moving into the area. It is welcoming, cheery and most importantly, our kids look forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

To the previous parent...African Americans care a great deal about their kids education as well as the next person. I am constantly at my daughters school volunteering, reading to children, chaperoning and staying involved. The teachers still fail to give me critical information to help my child at home. It is my opinion if I want to give this school 1 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

We love Aquila. The previous poor scored review ignors so many elements of a good education it is difficult to respond. The teachers are all outstanding. Regardless of the childs skin color, economic background or family makeup, children can excell in school when they have a supportive, loving enviroment. At Aquila, they have that, even if they do not have it at home. When parents fail to support their children, the job of the teachers is made more difficult by at least ten fold. Yet, the Aquila staff works hard to overcome this obsticle for the small minority of students who have no support at home. With a change in leadership, I see greatness returning to Aquila soon. Strong leadership, outstanding teachers and wonderful support staff lead to a loving, caring, learning-rich experience for the children. Aquila is well on its way to being the best educational environment for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers are great. They are willing to go the extra mile to make sure the kids are getting the help they need. All the staff there are friendly and take the time to get to know the kids by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

Aquila Primary Center is the 'hidden gem' of the St. Louis Park school system. The highest quality teachers, finest administrative staff and extras like on-site music and language classes make Aquila our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I am so glad I chose this neighborhood to move to! I think the school is great and my son Sean couldn't have a better teacher than Mrs. Patel. She is a delight!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Aquila is one of the few bright spots in the SLP school district. The principal and his staff are top tier professionals. They're given, unfairly so, all the Title 1 kids in the district and they still do a phenomenal job of educating everyone. I have nothing but great things to say about Aquila
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

This school shows fabulous leadership with increased test scores over the last five years, in spite of an increase in low-income students. The principal has been able to target the students who need additional help and does a great job of focusing the teachers on more effective ways to teach the subject matter. This school only gets better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

I have been extremely impressed with Aquila and my son's teacher. He loves school and I am so happy that we stayed in St. Louis Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

Aquila is an awesome school! The staff is amazingly talented, many have their masters. The staff feels that it is a true partnership between the teachers and the parents to educate the whole child. There are many extras at Aquila, Bravo, Picture Person, Art Classes, sports and more. The gym teacher is the best in the metro. All the teachers are looking out for the best in each child and taking them from that point forward. Aquila allows children to grow, learn, build confidence and develop. It is also becoming an International Baccalaureate school and will offer 90 minutes of spanish in the fall. Thanks to the outstanding leadership from the Principal Aquila is an awesome neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

The high caliber, dedicated staff and the focus on each individual student make Aquila Primary Center an exemplary school. During the course of the year, staff show their dedication and strong desire for every child to achieve at Aquila by their daily interactions, big and small. Whether it be a small group working with a specialist, multi grade groups working together on a project, or during an all school assembly where kids and staff applaud the talents of fellow students, staff are constantly planning and creating meaningful learning experiences. The principal, Mr. Robert Metz, often tells parents, We meet each student where they are at and go from there. I have found this mantra to be one of the driving forces that makes Aquila Primary Center a great place for all kids to learn and grow. Staff diligently prescribe and develop instruction that best suits each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

Aquila is a great school that offered me opportunities creatively and educationally. I learned to appreciate everyone and gain perspectives outside the normally 'sterile' educational environments offered by other schools. Every student should feel lucky to be able to attend such an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2006

The principal and staff are outstanding. We have raised four children who we open enrolled to Aquila and Cedar Manor. Our children have gained life long friends with terrific children/families. I overall experience was wonderful. The schools fully prepared our children for some of the finest colleges in the country and they were happy and safe at Aqula and Cedar Manor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

My daughter is into her second year at Aquila. There is a community feeling she really likes. Homework is organized but not overwhelming. There are several fundraisers, but no more than anywhere else. We were located in a better funded school district before, but did not necessarily get a better education. At Aquila there are experienced teachers who recognized my daughter's strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

They say they have a zero tollerance for bullying, but what they don't tell you is they don't allow tattling. Also the teachers and staff are true bullys of the school. They are not protecting the children, and they are very disrespectful to the children. I am very disappointed in this school and hope someone really takes a stand here. I think the principal needs to stand up to these teachers and change things. He seems like a good principal but he has no control over his staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I was not very happy with this school at all. The teacher clearly had no idea what she was doing and gave no support for our daughter who needed ESL classes, maybe due to lack of experience. She seemed disorganized and working without a plan. Unless you asked specifically ( incl parent teacher day) there wasn't any information on anything. No homework at all and an overall not so high standard. Too many fundraisers,too. No activities offered. Other teachers didn't seem to bother about recess incidents,either. I am glad we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

Both my children have been cared for, safe and well educated at SLP high school. Their teachers are the best. My daughter graduated with honors and had no problem with college. She was active in sports, the (award winning) school paper, and social activities. My son is a junior and enrolled in the International Bacalaurate program. He enjoys the academic challenges, extra curricular activities, and the social life of the school. I rate it as one of the best schools in Minnesota.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Not a supportive school for certain racial groups. No advocacy for children against improper teachers. No parental support for problems within the school caused by teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Economically non-disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students73%
Female75%
Male70%
Black74%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Economically non-disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Black70%
Hispanic86%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Economically non-disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female58%
Male72%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Economically non-disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant65%

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male51%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Economically non-disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Economically non-disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant67%

Reading

All Students60%
Female67%
Male53%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Economically non-disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learners10%
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female48%
Male36%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Economically non-disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant44%

Reading

All Students58%
Female60%
Male53%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Economically non-disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant58%

Science

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Economically non-disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Non-migrant33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 74%
Black 19% 9%
Hispanic 15% 7%
Two or more races 12% 2%
Asian 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Freida Bailey
Fax number
  • (952) 928-6466

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8500 West 31st St
St. Louis Park, MN 55426
Phone: (952) 928-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

French Academy
St. Louis Park, MN



The Whole Learning School
St. Louis Park, MN



Esy Special Education
St. Louis Park, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT