Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peter Hobart Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2013

a caring school, with top notch teachers who work together to get a student on the right tract. they challenge students and have great school spirit. they handled a severe tragedy in an appropriate way and informed parents of the cave in ,in quick time. good school pride.


Posted February 19, 2013

Wonderful School! We fled Minneapolis public schools because of huge class size and extreme behavior issues. We are so thankful that we are now at Peter Hobart. The teachers are top notch. The Principal leads with a warm smile. The SLP school district lets the professionals do their job without a lot of meddling. We love this school, and so do our kids! I give Peter Hobart an A++!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Excellent school. Caring and professional staff. Mrs Dvorak the best kindergarten teacher ever. Thanks Peter Hobart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

this is an absolutely excellent school. the teachers are caring and go the extra mile. the principal is approachable and funny. there is a great sense of community and citizenship at this school. i couldn't be happier with my sons experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I couldn't be more pleased with Peter Hobart in every way. My oldest son will be in third grade next year and my youngest son will enter Kindergarten. We have been thrilled with the teachers each year and have heard great things about every other teacher in the school. Mr. Johnson, the principal, is amazing with the students. I am very involved in the PTA and love the amount of parent involvement in the school. Every day there are many parents volunteering for various activities. The students have recess and PE every day and have music and art several times a week. It really couldn't be better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I couldn't be more pleased with my son's kindergarten experience at Peter Hobart. The teacher is thoughtful and well-organized. Principal Johnson is fantastic. I don't know that there are extracurricular activities for kindergarteners, but I don't expect any at this age. I feel blessed that my son is getting his great start at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2006

School is located in middle class suburb to the west of Minneapolis. As of '06, school/district is known for excellent staff, leadership and innovation; teachers encourage to innovate. May change in future. Natl. Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (3 time award winner). District wide, the Spanish Immersion school had a 2006 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, and International Baccalaureate is available at the high school level. Diverse student population. Few discipline problems at the elementary and junior high level; good at the high school level with some issues. Students able to transfer into the district due to Minnesota law allowing cross-district transfers with few denials, which may account for some of this. Strong discipline programs at all schools, truancy is not accepted via Minnesota law and students will be expelled according to progressive discipline programs. Strong support for district by parents, referendum for school funding and reduced class sizes rarely
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

We are extremely pleased with Peter Hobart. The school encourages parent involvement and the teachers a very approachable. Our kindergartner's teacher is easy to reach and provides us feedback on the progress of our daughter on a regular basis. The principal, Mr Johnson, is also very active on a day to day basis by attending classes and on occasion filling in for a teacher who is out. We couldn't have scripted a better beginning to our daughter's primary education. The school will no doubt meet, and in most cases excede your expectations of what is required in a grade school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

Peter Hobart gave our two daughter's the best educational experience we could have ever hoped for. The teachers are exceptional in tending to the required materials, but also in pursuing what each child may need individually. That is an awesome feat considering all they have to do already. The principal cares deeply for the students and pursues every avenue available to provide the best, most well-rounded, inclusive curriculum he can. Students receive music 1 - 2 times per week, phy-ed (1st - 3rd) is provided daily, as is recess. Reading and comprehension are considered top priority. Parent volunteerism is highly valued and utilized. This is a a marvelous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

I wish I knew more about the situation described in the August 2004 review. It sounds like there are somethings that need to be resolved. Of course the benefit of this district is the option of two elementary schools. Be that as it may, I am thrilled with the quality of education here. As a formal teacher, I'm happy to say that I'm out of my league among many teachers in this district--they're great. I do feel there are a small number of teachers that should call it quits, but it seems to be far less than other districts. In fact, somewhere around 99% of parents were satisfied with the quality of education at Peter Hobart. Take if from two teachers (one former, one current): you're child will get a good foundation here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

My son started his elemantary school career at Peter Hobart and I was less than impressed with what I saw. Not only did he NOT know his letter sounds and was passed to first grade, he was labelled slow by his teachers in his home room and resolution room publically, allowing other children to call him stupid and killing his self esteem to the point that he refused to participate at all for the last three months of school <which I was called in daily to help him do his work> If these teachers are not capable of motivating a student positively at a young age, then maybe they should retire. As for comunication with the school, it is marginal at best and if you want to know something, call the principal and maybe he'll return your call 3 days later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Both of my children have been in this school. The principal gets involved with the children daily by his morning announcements and his daily joke. I am very pleased with the special ed department and the social worker there. She is awesome with my son. I highly recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
Black70%
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Economically non-disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male74%
Black46%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Economically non-disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
Black48%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Economically non-disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Economically non-disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant69%

Reading

All Students54%
Female46%
Male60%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Economically non-disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female63%
Male71%
Black39%
Asian70%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Economically non-disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant67%

Reading

All Students57%
Female66%
Male47%
Black14%
Asian60%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Economically non-disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities59%
English language learners11%
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female45%
Male54%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Economically non-disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant51%

Reading

All Students62%
Female65%
Male59%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Economically non-disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Non-migrant62%

Science

All Students55%
Female50%
Male57%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Economically non-disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 73%
Black 21% 9%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Shelley Nielsen
Fax number
  • (952) 928-6643

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 West 26th St
St. Louis Park, MN 55426
Phone: (952) 928-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Flagship Academy
St. Louis Park, MN


Holy Family Academy
St. Louis Park, MN


Esy Special Education
St. Louis Park, MN



Groves Academy
St. Louis Park, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT