Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Humboldt Secondary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Humboldt administration, teachers and support staff work together to prepare students for life. They recognize the gifts within students and work to enhance them through mentorship or other leadership roles, such as WEB and LINK Crew. The admin team, counselors, social workers and support staff work to hold student accountable while creating a greater understanding for one's actions. I would highly recommend Humboldt!

Humboldt Secondary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Humboldt is an exceptional school which I've seen take students which are struggling to exceed their expectations. The teachers are dedicated and go above and beyond for students. The administration is visible, engaged in the community and genuinely works to improve the school. I know Principal Sodomka has worked to remove weak teachers and doesn't have a problem confronting students or parents which negatively impact our school community. He's also worked to add more College in the Schools and other programs to the school, such as a Certified Nursing Assistant, Emergency Medical Responder, National Academy of IT and he's working to add a welding program to expose our children to career opportunities. I see some negative reviews on this website and wonder if these are from teachers who have been fired or from parents which had their child transferred out due to poor behavior. Humboldt is a small school with many opportunities for students!


Humboldt Secondary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a community member
As a student of Humboldt High School I'd say I had made the best decision to attend Humboldt as a 7th grader and still continuing until I graduate. Don't believe what you hear, actually experience it to know the true. Our school is very diverse and a lot of student came to our school without knowing English. It's hard for them to learn and the ELL Departments are doing their best in every way possible to help bloom a flower. On the other side, we do have kids who treated education as nothing. They came to school unprepared to learn without any materials. They gives teachers hard time but the teacher never give up on them, they will not stop until they help created a painting full of smile and tears. Humboldt is one of the school that cares about its student and their learning. Don't compare our test scores to other school. Don't look at how low it is. Come to our classroom and experience how hard teachers work to make sure flowers are bloom daily and make the lightbulb pop. Come see how our student who lacked English as their first language improve each day as they received the help from teachers. Come see those who failed trying to get back up with encouragement from teachers.

Humboldt Secondary School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a community member
The staff care about every student, even their past students no longer in their classrooms. I have seen college students even come back to get math help from their high school math teacher! I have also seen former students back to volunteer or work in Humboldt's after school program. It's great to see graduates so connected still to their high school.

Humboldt Secondary School 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a parent
One word to describe it.....HORRIBLE!!! Full of bad students and the teachers and staff are just about the same. Especially the principal.! They will do their best to get u to sign up with them and afterwards u will never see them again. I saw the principal a couple days later and she didn't even recognize me! They have cops walking in and out of the school with dogs. Very unsafe and very unorganize!!


Humboldt Secondary School 4

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
Humboldt High School Good example of successful navigating challenges of diverse student population. Very strong, diverse leadership team.

Humboldt Secondary School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Humboldt is a very poor school. Just check out the test scores! There are many schools locally and nationally with similar demographic bhey are performing much better. All the five Star reviews are from teachers whoapparently feel the need to justify their poor performance. Admin. supports poor teachers WHO tow the party line.

Humboldt Secondary School 5

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
Humboldt is a gem in Saint Paul. How wonderful is it that in a large urban city like Saint Paul, we can offer our children a school where there are not 2500 nameless students wandering the hallways. The staff know and care about each and everyone of the students at Humboldt. It is not like other schools. It is a second home for my children. The teachers care about the students as if they were their own. My children are afforded opportunities and individual attention that I know would go attended at the factory-like larger schools in the community and surrounding suburbs. Bigger is not always better. This is truly the case when it comes to a child's education. Don't be fooled by skewed scores and polls. This is a class act school.


Humboldt Secondary School 1

Posted December 26, 2012
- a community member
Humboldt is a school with a lot of problems. The students are great, and deserve a great education, but this is not the place to get one. The administration is weak--lacking in vision, judgment, and communication ability. The teaching staff is split, some great, but many with low skills that don't match their arrogant attitudes. The conflicts between staff members--in and between departments and between staff and administration--combined with very poor decision making by school and district administration make it a toxic environment that harms instruction, programs, and students. A word to the wise: If you care about your kids, don't send them to this school.

Humboldt Secondary School 1

Posted November 24, 2012
- a teacher
This school is a very underperforming school. Again, the test scores tell the story. The teacher the previous reviewer is talking about is not a weak teacher. She is an excellent teacher who was new to high school teaching (2 months into the academic year) and put on an improvement plan after complaining to district administration about the fact that she had 40 students (newcomers) in a small classroom with an EA who was pulled during instruction on a DAILY basis to interpret for one family. She repeatedly asked for support in not doing this, but the behavior only increased. There was "NO" support or communication from either administrator. On the other hand, there were many "weak" teachers there along with teachers with no personal boundaries relating to work. By the way, other ELL teachers at the site also felt the principal had NO understanding of ELL learning pedagogy. The teacher who wrote the comment against this teacher is likely an extremely one of the above teachesr with no personal boundaries regarding work. Put down the kool-aid. These teacher are likely "encouraged" to rebut the poor reviews.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Humboldt Secondary School
30 East Baker St, St. Paul, MN  55107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (651) 293-8600
Last modified Humboldt Secondary School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top