Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

197 students|Avalon School
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
134 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (10 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (12 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (11 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (11 responses)
characters left.
There are 264 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avalon School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at Avalon allowed and supported me in exploring my interests. A project-based learning curriculum ensures that students who are successful at Avalon become curious, independent learners with strong time management and organizational skills. After Avalon, I attended and graduated with honors from college. I'm currently working as a policy analyst for the Philadelphia city government's anti-poverty office. I would not be where I am today without having attended Avalon.

Avalon School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
I am an Avalon School alumni. Avalon helped me succeed after highschool by improving my problem solving skills and independent research skills through project based learning. Learning about subjects by creating personalized projects boosted my ability to self teach. There are a lot of problems to solve and things to learn after highschool. The skills I gained from Avalon help me with them every day. Traditional schools give you a genetically modified fish stick, while Avalon teaches you to fish.


Avalon School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
I graduated from Avalon 10 years ago and I loved my high school experience there! Having the autonomy to create my own projects meant I was almost always very interested in the topics I chose which made me excited to learn and do well on my projects. This is a great school for students who are self-starters and able to learn independently. Many of the teachers I had are still at the school. They were all great though I will admit my favorites were Gretchen Sage-Martinson and Carrie Bakken :) I also made great friends at Avalon that I am still very close with today!

Avalon School 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
It looks to me (as a parent) that nearly every Avalon student was, in one way or another, a square peg trying (or not trying!) to fit in a round hole at their previous school. Some have learning challenges, some social challenges, some were dissatisfied with the slow pace or focus of their previous school. Avalon is probably not the right place for a kid who fits comfortably in a typical public middle/high school. Of course, it’s not the right place for every square peg either, but it could be an outstanding option for a kid who just doesn’t fit in a typical public school. The project orientation means that learning is individually tailored. Faculty guide and push students, but the push is most often not so much about standard curricular achievement, but about finding something that motivates the student and leads them to thrive academically. In other words, the project focus is at least as much about learning to learn as it is about learning specific things. My guess is that students whose families choose Avalon learn more than they would in a traditional public school, but that exactly what they learn is often quite different. The state standards still get checked off one by one, but maybe in kind of unusual ways, at least in humanities and social studies. Parents have a lot of input and responsibility for exactly how that works out because parents, as well as advisors, must approve every project.

Avalon School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
The whole point of this school is that learning is directed by a team of student, advisors, and parents. They decide. Who am I to second-guess them?


Avalon School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
It's difficult for me to tell whether middle/high school students are developing these qualities. They do both amazingly kind and amazingly cruel things.

Avalon School 5

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Avalon is a school where students can make the best of themselves. If they work hard, they move up quickly, attending college classes during high school. If they have a hard time with certain skills, they will receive support. If they are in between, they are encouraged and motivated to accomplish all that they are capable of.

Avalon School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Kevin Ward keeps my student on track and helps turn imaginative ideas into realistic projects. He encourages leadership skills and became an advisor to an after-school club that my student started.


Avalon School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Like any school, some teachers are better than others, and that opinion is different from student to student. An advisor will work as an intermediary if there are conflicts between students and teachers.

Avalon School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
If a student is focused and organized during school hours, they may have little homework.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avalon School
700 Glendale Street, St. Paul, MN  55114
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 264 reviews. (651) 649-5495
Last modified Avalon School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top