Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul Conservatory Performing Art

Charter | 9-12

 
 

Living in St. Paul

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $141,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Know due to the open enrollment, SPCPA can't be up to the task preparing highly/early classically trained at a highly pre-professional level. SPCPA is a high school experience for kids that find value belonging on common interests, and parents who value maintaining arts in the curriculum as it vanishes in public school system. Theater ego/immaturity is ever-rampant. SPCPA is not instilling students a necessary strong backup plan for life (sciences, etc.) given the harsh reality that realistically, only a handful of the very best from conservatories world over will succeed in the highly competitive professional performing arts. Strings provide daily practice as does dance. Devoted will definitely need to be in pre-professional orchestras, quartets and ballet training in conjunction. The vocal track combines choral, theater and opera and different physiologically - even detrimental. Academically, SPCPA is not AP accredited or IB. Know PSEO is application based and difficult on a number of points.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

The Saint Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists, the place where all dreams come true. Have you ever wanted to be able to sing in front of a huge crowd? Have you ever wanted to dance with an amazing group of people? Have you ever enjoyed creating a masterpiece on stage? Even playing your favorite instrument as well! Well the Saint Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists is the right place. The education is excellent, teachers are on top of things especially making sure ALL students pass above a C. Students work their hardest to get their highschool diploma and also enjoy the performing arts. The school is the right place for your student. It's a place to finally find yourself and meet lifelong friends. A place to find out your dreams. SPCPA is the best choice to make, why not make dreams come true?


Posted October 18, 2013

I am happy to be at this school! Teachers are very thoughtful. I say in order for you to keep up, you must be very committed. There is no time to waste in class! If you are lost, have any questions or concerns the teachers are very flexible with the schedules. If you would like to pursue in any of the arts offered, join us; it's free! I recommend you look more into this school. But be aware, you shall be very responsible. Good luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2013

I am currently a senior at SPCPA. I can honestly say that this school has changed my life. The students that this school draws are talented, driven, young performing artists, who put as much intention into their academic classes as they do their arts. This school is not for everyone. It takes a certain kind of driver student to excel at SPCPA. The school allows for a great deal of freedom at a young age. This is a blessing and a curse. If you are not accountable, and an advocate for yourself you can struggle at SPCPA. This is because there is no one forcing you to do your work. I learned a great deal of time management skills in my first semester.The teachers are young intelligent individuals who are very relatable. I have found that when I ask they have gone above and beyond to help me. The arts teachers are working professionals in the area. They have helped me grow as an artist and a person, many of them have become my mentors that I will keep in touch with after I graduate. I have very much enjoyed my time at SPCPA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2013

I'm currently attending spcpa. I will be a sophomore for the 2013-2014 school year. I can honestly say that this school has changed my life. You meet awesome people, great teachers and it's a great campus. Everyone is so nice and helpful at spcpa. I love this school and I recommended it to anyone that has a performing arts passion like I do. (:


Posted May 7, 2013

This school is a godsend for my son. I have never seen a high school where all of the kids seem to be accepted, and the typical bullying culture is very small to non-existent. The academics are top notch, and the training these children receive in their respective arts discipline is second to none. This school can be compared to the Interlochen in Michigan, but without the $40,000 tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I dont like this school at all. Last year was my first year. I started out at a sophomore and right away i new i was not going to like it. The people were very different and kinda snotty and rude. The first thing i realized going into this school is that the teachers are really young. They didnt help me at all and all they talked about was moodle. This where they "post all the assignments" even though they never did. The arts part was fun but very overwhelming and stressful. They cared wayy more about the arts then the academics. This year i am much more happy at a public high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2012

Prior to coming to SPCPA, my daughter attended three other schools, looking for a school that taps into her artistic skills. SPCPA provides the artistic classes she so desires along with a very good academic program. Most students want to be at the school and seem to be pretty accepting of each other. My daughter has made some wonderful friends. The teachers are readily available to meet with the students when needed and the principal has an open door policy making it very comfortable for the students to approach him with any concerns. Their are five tracks to follow at SPCPA. My daughter is on the dance track at SPCPA. Her teachers come with excellent credentials and have a sincere interest in helping kids with their goals. Overall, if your child has an interest in the performing arts, check out SPCPA. It has been a great fit for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

For students that are passionate about the performing arts, this is an excellent choice. Class sizes in both the arts and academics are kept small. The teachers make time to talk to students and parents as needed, and even the academic class activities creatively incorporate small and large group activities and acting with the usual tests, papers, and lectures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

This is a great school if your student is interested in dance, theatre, vocal, or music. The focus is not entirely on talent for example, in the music track, the students must learn about music theory, history, and business in addition to actually playing their instrument. The school is very good at using technology for educational advancement. They have a website so parents can login to view their child s grades, homework, and attendance. The students are able to access their homework and textbooks online through Moodle. Administration is very good at e-mailing parents with events and opportunities. My child is in the music track, and I really only have two complaints. One, they phased out the guitar track in 2010-2011, so that if your child plays guitar they ll have to learn another instrument. Two, they stopped accepting new students into the music track altogether for the 2011-2012 school year. The parents were told that this was because they had too many students enrolled already. To me these two things seem discriminatory. I don t see the same restrictions being placed on students of any other track. Other than that, my child seems very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

This is a fresh thinking, young staff who go out of their way to help their students. We feel we have found a home at SPCPA and are very glad we decided to move our student from the classic public school setting to this wonderful, creative learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

If your child is into the performing arts this is a very good school. They have multiple tracks for multiple talents and interests. It is an excellent place to explore your student's gifts. The arts classes are diverse and challenging. J-term is exciting and wonderful. For the student who does not fit the profile of the traditional school it is a great place. Students treat each other like family, with affection and trust. Downside: like most charters the core classes are weak. Curriculum budgets are limited by what the teachers need to live on. Core teachers are young and inexperienced. My precocious math student was doing the same math in 10th grade he did in junior high. But sometimes science, social studies, math and English are not the most important issues in a child s development into personhood. There is more than one good formula for a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male89%
Black93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Economically non-disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Non-migrant97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male97%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2011.

148 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students76%
Female74%
Male83%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Economically non-disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

All Students56%
Female56%
Male59%
Black26%
Asian42%
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Economically non-disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male90%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 73%
Black 12% 9%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A37%
Female 75%N/A49%
Male 25%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 West 5th Street
Suite 522
St. Paul, MN 55102
Phone: (651) 290-2225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT