Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School 4

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Our family has had an overall positive experience at TCGIS. Even when issues have come up I felt that the administrations and teaching staff addressed them appropriately and in a timely manner. Not every teacher is great, but that's the same at any school. They all bring a different set of talents and overall our son has enjoyed all of them and learned from each. I don't understand some other parents' comments about "safety". Our son feels completely safe and has no problem telling his teacher or other staff if he has a problem. I am grateful for the low teacher to student ratio, the intern program and all of the great parents who are working hard to help our kiddos flourish. Just because things haven't stayed exactly as they were three years ago (what does?) doesn't mean that all the changes are bad. We love the school and we will stay.

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
My kids both go to TCGIS. They speak fluent German now and for the most part, have always loved school. I feel extremely lucky for them to go to this school. It is hard to understand all the complaints. Strong academics, hardworking dedicated kind teachers, positive learning environment. No school is perfect but TCGIS is about as good as it gets.


Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School 2

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
I am giving this school two stars only because I am extremely unhappy about the current administration. The culture of the school has dramatically changed in the past two years from a thriving community to a place of command, control and fear. Yes, fear!!! Teachers and other staff are afraid and have to work under rigid rules and uptight supervision. Children are treated disrespectfully, parents are kept out of the school with new policies. I could go on. This place has so much potential because of the amazing teachers, the wonderful office staff, the students and parent community. But the principal has to go!!!

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School 2

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are disrespectful of the students, as as former student I did not feel as if I could trust them to talk to, the principal is mean, overly strict and uptight, and you have no independence. If you are advanced in any subject stay away from this school as there are no options for advanced students.

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
My seventh grade English and German teachers. They were wonderful, kind, and understanding, as well as very capable teachers whom I learned a lot from. Unfortunately they have left for better places. Good luck to them. I miss you.


Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
Most of the good teachers that I've had have left the school because they did not like how it was run, so we are left with sucky ones.

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
Yes, but for me at least it was only because I wanted to prove the TCGIS staff wrong about how incapable I was.

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
Yes, but in a bad way. At least when I was there, I was respectful to my teachers and principal because I was scared of what would happen if I wasn't.


Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are great, some are not. But you'll get that at any school. There has some some teachers that many kids like, and some get made fun of on the playground.

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School 3

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
I very much agree with the points submitted by a parent on 3/25. These points would not have existed 3 years ago. I encourage any family to ask a lot of questions and get a wide variety of perspectives. Look beyond the face value of information given at coordinated events like open houses and tours. Attend Board and committee meetings or watch the pod casts posted on the website. How are people with differing thoughts (on topics including the controversial second campus) treated? How vibrant is the PTO? How engaged (volunteering, donations, involvement in school gatherings) are families across the grades? Why did the teachers feel they needed to unionize? Do children feel safe and valued as kids around Administration? I smiled ruefully at the there will be a glowing review following mine because I see it happen on other ratings sites for the school's leadership. It begs the question why are the reviews so polarized? My kids are doing fine but we are considering leaving not something we thought possible when we signed on years ago.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School
1031 Como Avenue, St. Paul, MN  55103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (651) 492-7106
Last modified Twin Cities German Immersion Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top