Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
168 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Paul Preparatory School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 13, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Tredinnick has been able to capture the attention of my SPP student, who has an intense interest in military engagements and equipment. My student feels his opinions and ideas are listened to, and that helps him focus on the subject being taught.

St. Paul Preparatory School 5

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
We have two SPP students -- and junior and one heading to college this fall. They chose SPP for the international student body, the community feel, and excellent academics. SPP really shines as a place where our boys are known. Class sizes are small and teachers are fully engaged. The students really want to be there. The predominantly international student body sidesteps so much of American high school nonsense. It is wonderful for my boys to experience being in a diverse community where they have gained wider and deeper perspectives about the world. We love the downtown location and the fact that all the students use public transportation (no car culture). The AP/honors class options provide challenging course choices without the all or nothing pressure cooker of some IB/prep school programs. SPP isn't a well known option in the Twin Cities but it should be.


St. Paul Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
We have appreciated the energy and dedication of SPP teachers for the four years (and counting) we have had kids there. Many are fairly new to teaching and they bring that enthusiasm and dedication to their classrooms. The desire to teach international students attracts a certain mindset and we appreciate the teachers' wider perspectives and experiences that bring them to SPP. Smaller classes means teachers are able to know all their students well and can sustain high expectations and performance.

St. Paul Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
The variety of classes, from ESL to AP or honors courses allows students to work at the level they need to be challenged. We were not looking for a high pressure, IB-type program and have been very satisfied with the level of academics for our sons.

St. Paul Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
SPP sets the bar high for treating each other respectfully. Since most of the students are here on their own and living with host families, the school takes a large role in helping students navigate American culture and their diverse SPP peers. Respect is only the beginning but is a part of the foundation of their positive school culture.


St. Paul Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
One of the strengths of SPP is their caring and tuned-in teachers and staff. As a small school, there is a sense of community that is evident when you walk through the front door. My two boys are well known and supported. Cultural understanding is a top priority at SPP and it starts with an atmosphere of genuine curiosity and warm-heartedness in the student body.

St. Paul Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
SPP students are held to very high expectations about how they treat each other, in and out of the classroom. The school actively builds a community of trust, understanding, and open mindedness. As an international school, appreciation of and respect for diversity is woven into the culture of the school.

St. Paul Preparatory School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a teacher
St. Paul Prep is an excellent and very unique school. The international environment offers a tremendous opportunity for students to develop cultural awareness and sensitivity. The diverse student body facilitates a welcoming and inclusive environment for students of all backgrounds. The academics at SPP are very strong, with several AP courses offered every year and advanced students have the opportunity to take college courses at the University of St. Thomas. On top of all this, they are committed to providing an affordable college preparatory education. (Tuition this year is under $10,000 for local students and they offer merit scholarships and financial aid.) I highly recommend St. Paul Prep!


St. Paul Preparatory School 5

Posted December 24, 2012
- a student
I loved the international feel of this school. The teachers really care about the students, and you really learn to appreciate a lot of other cultures. Learning can be fun!

St. Paul Preparatory School 4

Posted March 07, 2010
- a student
I am student at St. Paul Preparatory School. This is my fourth and final year at this school. I have met many different students from many different countries. A lot of my friends are now back in their home countires, but, I still keep in touch with them! It has been an amazing experience!The teachers are great! They care about the students! They are very experienced! I have learned a lot from this school. If you are looking for a college preparatory schoo, this is it! SPP offers AP classes. They continue to add more AP classes each year. If you are invovled in many sports, this may not be the school for you. But SPP offers girls basketball, girls soccer, boys soccer, and boys basketball. I think my teachers have prepared me for college. That is important too. It's a great school! I can't imagine going anywhere else!!

Nearby schools

St. Paul Preparatory School
380 Jackson Street, St. Paul, MN  55101
(651) 288-4606
Last modified St. Paul Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top