Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Therese School

Private | PK-8 | 173 students

Strong academics, small class sizes, service, faith and character development
 
 

 

Living in Wayzata

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted October 29, 2013

At St. Therese School, we focus on providing an outstanding academic experience in a faith filled environment. We strive to create a community where all are welcomed, valued and respected as uniquely designed children of God. It is a privilege to partner with parents in their efforts to develop confident, competent, and compassionate citizens.

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2014

School is too small. Teachers are good but not willing to correct ill behaved students. Nuns are wonderful leaders but size of school is a real problem


Posted October 18, 2013

St. Therese School is great! We have two children in the programs at St. Therese, one in the K-2 school and one in the preschool/daycare program. We can't say enough great things about St. Therese. The teachers are excellent and the academic program is extremely strong (Core Knowledge and Saxon Math). They also have sports, music, Spanish, and religion, creating well rounded academically strong students. Class sizes are smaller giving all students individual attention and they teach to the level of each student. Can't say enough great things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

The students at this school are so unfriendly. Almost a bully atmosphere. The parents are very unwelcoming. Very cold and stand offish. The elementary staff is excellent, the middle school staff is adequate. We have never been in such an unwelcoming and unfriendly environment. I would not recommend this school. The administration is aware of the bully issues and does nothing. Hard to believe this is a catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

St. Therese School is outstanding! Academically their NWEA (previously, MAP and Iowa Basics) test scores are consistently above public schools in the district and those of surrounding public school districts. The faculty is engaged, highly competent and experienced in their respective subjects. Class sizes are conducive to learning due to their size and teachers can focus attention individually if/when necessary. They are also willing to provide additional help to students when necessary. St. Therese provides a Catholic and Christian environment that focuses not only on academics but on the development of children spiritually and physically. Spanish is taught in grades K-8. All three of our children attended St. Therese School and were very well prepared for high school. In addition, they have an excellent athletic program and music and theatre opportunities as well. St. Therese School has consistently produced district winners or top performers in the annual Minnesota geography and spelling bees. One student won the Minnesota geography bee and participated in the national competition. I highly recommend St. Therese School for students in grades K-8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

We moved to the Minnetonka area from out of state a couple of years ago and began researching schools. We have two middle school students at St. Therese and couldn't be happier. The school provides a warm, safe, and strong valued atmosphere on top of the exceptional education they provide. Both of our kids are gifted academically and St. Therese challenges them in every way. The math program is excellent as is Language Arts. The computer lab and science lab are both top notch. We love St. Therese and are so thankful that we found this hidden gem! We highly recommend St. Therese School. Their testing scores are always exceptional, beating out the Minnetonka Schools!! St Therese is the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

Two of my children are graduates (PreK through 8) and my third child is currently a student. Not only does St. Therese do an exceptional job of preparing children for high school it also does an outstanding job of preparing them for life. The early years of a child's life are so critical in the development of their character. I don't know of a better school to compliment the values and morals we've taught our children at home. I highly recommend St. Therese School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

I have 3 children who are currently attending St. Therese. My oldest has been there for 4 years. I have been very impressed at how the teachers genuinely care for students, and all aspects of their development. Would highly recommend St. Therese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

I have been a part of this school for almost 20 years, with 3 children attending pre-k through 8th grade. The teachers,staff, principal are fantastic. The presence of nuns teaching and throughout the school is wonderful. A very comfortable atmosphere; a very caring envornment. There's nowhere I'd rather have my children at the start of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Amazing staff and learning environment! The individual attention and customized learning maximize each child's potential. My children started in the Pre-K program (also outstanding) and moved into Kindergarten very successfully. I'm impressed by the focus on values, character and sense of community. They offer after school and summer programs allowing enrichment outside the classroom as well. The Spanish, art and music classes have allowed my daughter to excel in the arts and languages while attending a first rate school. This school is also extremely inclusive, regardless of you faith background. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

great school. Saxon math, kids are placed according to skills in math, reading and writing. Small classes. Great after school activities and day care. Excelent parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 73%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Reader's Choice (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lauren Caton, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (952) 261-0630

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses within certain areas of
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Grade 4 and up
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • So many!
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We invite you to come for a visit, meet our amazing students, dedicated staff, and supportive families!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
114
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
114
Students typically come from these schools
St. Therese Childcare/ PreK

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Holy Family High School
Benilde St. Margaret
Minnetonka High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18325 Minnetonka Blvd
Wayzata, MN 55391
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 473-4355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Deephaven Academy
Deephaven, MN






276 Minnetonka Compass
Minnetonka, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT