Advertisement
Advertisement

Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wayzata

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

Redeemer in Wayzata is a school I would recommend to any parent looking for small class sizes, caring and wise teachers, rigorous - but attainable curriculum and plenty of activities to choose from. I get many compliments on my three children and I always give a large amount of credit for that to Redeemer. They have partnered with my husband and I to raise confident, happy, well-rounded kids. It's truly a hidden gem that I wish more people knew about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

I've had three kids go through Redeemer, and we could not be happier! The staff is the most caring, competent, faithful group that you could ever assemble. The curriculum and extra-curricular options round out a very balanced, and successsful academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

I have raised 2 daughters in Redeemer and can't say enough about the school and the teachers. Redeemer has the most caring of teachers who truely put the students best interest first. My oldest is currently in 10th grade, but keeps in touch and has get togethers with her "Redeemer family". I can't write any better example of how big of an impact her years at Redeemer were, but to highlight that she calls the kids she went to school with "Family"! Redeemer has also changed the foreign language format from a teacher based program to the Rosetta Stone method. It has been such a positive change, and my youngest LOVES her spanish time. Redeemer has an exceptional, loving enviroment with top notch teachers. Come for the education and leave with a new family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

This is our 18th year at Redeemer; & we love it! My youngest of 4 is in 7th grade & he, along with his siblings were/are prepared for HS & beyond. They are academically challenged & have extra curricular activities to choose from. We also have caring, veteran staff who LOVE teaching & sharing Christ's love with students & their families. I highly recommend Redeemer Lutheran School and am blessed to have my children graduate from Redeemer be prepared for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

This is our second year at Redeemer Lutheran School. We wanted a Christ centered learning environment that provided both academic coaching and valuable life skills. This is exactly what we found. The staff really goes the extra mile. We have no problem rating this school as excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We have had our kids at Redeemer Lutheran School in Wayzata for 9 years now. We started our oldest there in preschool. It is a wonderful, Christ-centered school. The teachers are so dedicated to the children they are teaching. They give the kids a great education balanced with discipline, love, and grace. The class sizes are smaller, so each child is able to receive more one on one help when they need it. One of the greatest things about Redeemer is the family feel. Most of the parents are very involved in the school and in their kid's lives. It is a wonderful group of people who have always been very welcoming to new students and their families. I know our children will always cherish their years at this school and so will we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Redeemer has a solid core of Christian teachers. The 6th -8th grade teachers interact well with each other, and show a great love for Christ in their teaching. My son has developed not only academically but also as a strong christian. Redeemer was the best place I could have sent my son to prepare him for high school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

We have had kids at Redeemer Lutheran School for over ten years. Our children are nurtured in a wonderful Christ centered atmosphere, and have received a well rounded, solid education. The class sizes are wonderfully small, with each child getting exceptional personal attention. Redeemer Lutheran has definitely been a wonderful blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

We came to Redeemer January 2001 from Wisconsin. Our oldest son was in the fourth grade and now is in 8th grade (04 -05 ) and our youngest son was in preschool and is entering 3rd grade (04-05) They and I were apprehensive. We came to school and were immediatly warmly greeted. They said (moms and kids) they knew who we were and were looking forward to meeting us. Wow that does not happen very often. That reassured all of us. Redeemer teaches with a traditional method. Kindergarten and 1st grade teach intensive phonics. It is a school that teaches solid acedemics, reading writing and arthimatic. Letter grades begin in 1st grade with midterm reports so you are able to monitor your children(s) progress. It a small school with one class per grade. Great student/teacher ratio. This is a Christ-center school full of genuine love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

Redeemer Lutheran School is a terrific school providing an excellent education from preschool - 8th grade. The staff really care about the kids. Veteran teachers foster an environment where strong academics meet spirtual values. Intensive phonics, reading, writing, math, music, band, strings, phy-ed, Spanish (1st - 8th grade), English/Literature, History, Art, Science are all part of the curriculum. Extracurricular activities include an outstanding atheletic program (state and national basketball championships), baseball, cross country, volleyball, softball, track & field, cheerleading, etc. Extended school care is also offered along with a Learning Assistance Program (LAP)during the day. Strong success each year in the spelling bee several awards throughout the years. Redeemer Lutheran School teaches students how to learn and be successfull. Students score well above average on basic standards tests & Iowa Basics. Redeemer produces outstandings students, citizens & leaders. I'd recommend Redeemer Lutheran School to anyone considering non-public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 73%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Wayzata Blvd W
Wayzata, MN 55391
Phone: (952) 473-5356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT