Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Matoska International 4

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The world is full of adversity. My kids have never felt unsafe here. An IB school is inherently rooted in 'open learning.' If the 'community member' who wrote the last review is looking for structure, an IB school should never have been her choice in the first place.

Matoska International 1

Posted August 24, 2015
- a community member
Behavior problems are a real issue at Matoska as discipline and structure are severely lacking. Learning becomes difficult when one does not feel safe.


Matoska International 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I have a 1st grader and a kindergartener currently at Matoska. I am incredibly impressed with the overall education my boys receive. The IB program goes beyond academics and teaches values as well. The sense of community of both students and parents is undeniable. It's clear that the faculty and staff are committed to our school and enjoy their roles in shaping my children's days and lives. We love it here and are so glad we chose this school!

Matoska International 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year here and we transferred in , so far we have loved it and wish we would have picked it from the get go .

Matoska International 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We're in our 2nd year at Matoska and it has been a very positive experience for our child. His classroom teachers have been phenomenal and regularly go above and beyond to help each student achieve their full potential. We really like the way that Matoska is intentional about building good character in the kids as well as helping them academically. We would like to see some improvement in regard to following up with questions posed to the office/principal as we've been waiting nearly two months for a response to a very specific question we asked, but overall it has been a good choice to enroll our child here.


Matoska International 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
I have had two kids come thru this school. Each one of them has had amazing experiences. Teachers structure their plans to the individual as well as the whole class. Technology is implemented daily, they have been spending their money wisely with Chromebooks and iPads. World languages have been a part of their day since Kindergarten, so when they approach middle school they are beyond their peers in advancement. Communication between the teachers and staff to parents is so effortless, and open. I am so happy we chose this school!

Matoska International 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
My son is in 2nd grade and has special needs. He has had amazing teachers that have hone above and beyond to help him be successful! I never imagined he would be doing so well in a mainstreamed classroom for so long. His teachers are passionate about teaching ALL kids and about helping them grow and develop.

Matoska International 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
We have loved Matoska this year! (Our daughter is in Kindergarten) She enjoys her teachers and comes home with new knowledge about music, art or Spanish daily! The teachers and principal pay attention to happenings in the classroom and are firmly gentle about how they deal with issues. It has been a pleasure working with the staff at Matoska.


Matoska International 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
We have two kids at Matoska International. We have generally had a very positive experience here. While every family has their own experience and relationship with their child's teacher, we have loved nearly every teacher our kids have had. The arts program is top notch, the more recent attention to science and technology (regular use of Google drive and math and reading apps on new laptops, for example) is trending positive, and we appreciate the focus on character development and the 'whole child' that an IB focus brings. It's true that older families (like ours) may reminisce about the Centerpoint days. It's true it's not entirely parent choice as Centerpoint was. There are kids for whom this is their neighborhood school. We don't view that as a bad thing. We have been very active with this school, have put a lot of volunteer energy into the success of the kids and programs, and we have gotten out of it what we have put in. Our kids have grown academically and socially, have been nurtured and loved by a great group of teachers, specialists, and staff, and we have never felt anything but safe. Communication is strong, and you won't find a more involved group of parents!

Matoska International 2

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school has huge problems with behavior and feeling like a safe environment for their students. They also struggle with testing scores, but always seem to have "excuses" as to why their scores are lower. It once was a fantastic school, and K-1 are excellent. The problems begin with 2-5. Students are NOT challenged at their level and parents have taken their time to go in and teach their higher learners in the hallways. Technology is also not a priority within the entire district. They have a 5 year plan, but it's too little, too late. They are behind in technology, bragging that a SmartBoard in every classroom is their answer. Sadly, disappointed parent. Had REALLY high hopes in the first couple of years.

Nearby schools

Matoska International
2530 Spruce Place, White Bear Lake, MN  55110
(651) 653-2847
Last modified Matoska International is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top