Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
I am in 7th grade at Lake Middle School, and it is overall a very good school. The teachers are really helpful, and the office/front desk staff are always there when you need them. They seperate the Gifted and Talented kids from the normal ones, and homework is pretty reasonable. They also have a fabulous AP program for people in high school math/advanced science etc. There are some bad teachers/classes, and a popular crowd but that is expected. Overall, I really like going to school at Lake!

Lake Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
Mr. Kealy, Ms. Martin, Mrs Kristi Johnson, and Mr. Eberhardt for being inspirational, knowledgable in their topics, funny, kind, and AWESOME :-)


Lake Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
I have had some very inspirational teachers. They taught me to be respectful, kind, positive, and made me feel like an equal: Mr. Kealy, Mrs.K.Johnson and Ms. Martin are my favorites. Most of the teachers I've had have been knowledgable about their topics.

Lake Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
It's pretty good, but sometimes in the spring it can get quite heavy (finals, projects etc.) The homework load increases by grade.

Lake Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
All the teachers expect students to turn homework in, be on time etc., and there are consequences if you don't follow the rules. Lake also has a program called AVID and similar classes that teach college/high school readiness, study habits and more.


Lake Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
Most of the teachers teach the students sto be respectful and are successful with that, but I have had a few who just don't care and the rude people are let off.

Lake Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
Again, it really depends on the teacher; some develop positivity/empathy, some don't. Honestly, though, people who are nice/medium stay nice or get nicer, and people who are mean or rude stay mean and rude.

Lake Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a student
It realky depends on the teacher. Some teach the students to be kind and positive, and some are so lax that people misbehave a lot. I think most of the teachers at Lake would be the first one, though.


Lake Middle School 2

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
Too crowded!!! Not enough attention on the individual student needs. Be prepared for your child to have to deal with the typical self-centered, entitled Woodbury students. I've had older children attend this school and was disappointed on so many levels. I have another who is going into 6th grade and I am looking at alternative options. Test scores are high because it's an affluent community and the majority of the parents are college educated. Lots of peer pressure to be the BEST in grades, academics, etc. I do have to give credit to several teachers who are very good at what they do. However, there are several teachers that are sub par and should have been dismissed from the district years ago.

Lake Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
It's too bad that one score skews the overall rating! My daughter finished her first year and the parents and teachers were awesome. I had frequent communication with teachers and staff and they were always extremely open. My daughter was stretched academically and I her growth was evident. The overcrowding should not be an issue soon, as boundaries just went through a major (and emotional!) overhaul.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Middle School
3133 Pioneer Dr, Woodbury, MN  55125
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (651) 768-6400
Last modified Lake Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top