Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Life Academy

Private | PK-12 | 695 students

Christian faith-based community
 
 

 

Living in Woodbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

New Life Academy is a blessing! NLA cares about all aspects of the whole student - physical health, mental health, spiritual development and of course, their academic progress. The teachers are outstanding and provide a stellar education to the student body. The students are assessed on a continual basis to ensure their success. The teachers/staff genuinely care about the quality of education offered at NLA and regularly participate in professional development to carry out this goal. They live out their mission statement : "We are here to educate and energize each student to impact their world for Jesus Christ and to reach their full potential in scholarship, leadership and service out of love for God and one another."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

New Life is exactly the balanced education my kids need. Covering both strong academics as well as nurturing the soul. Classes are small enough that teachers can make a big impact on the students and differentiate their learning. There are many great offerings to challenge our students as well as strong extracurriculars. We wouldn't consider sending our kids anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

A fair review would be to say that there are many fine Christians there working hard; but there are classes that did not cover as much of the curriculum as expected. I hoped for more feedback on homework. Some teachers are attentive, some are too busy with their computers. Focus seems to be on fundraising and enrollment; would be nice to see detailed MAP, SAT, and ACT scores posted and news on plans to increase them. . There is little to nothing available for students who struggle and no oversight of what services they do claim to offer. If your child receives extra help ask for plans, reports and testing data showing growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

A fair review would be to say that there are many fine Christians there working hard; but there are classes that did not cover as much of the curriculum as expected. I hoped for more feedback on homework. Some teachers are attentive, some are too busy with their computers. Focus seems to be on fundraising and enrollment; would be nice to see detailed MAP, SAT, and ACT scores posted and news on plans to increase them. . There is little to nothing available for students who struggle and no oversight of what services they do claim to offer. If your child receives extra help ask for plans, reports and testing data showing growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

New Life Academy is a great school with an outstanding administration, as well as great teachers. Having teachers that are no only outstanding teachers, but teachers that are really concerned about the total well being of your child means a lot. NLA is constantly striving to for excellence in all that they do. We have known several NLA graduates that went on to do well in college and to be strong Godly people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I teach in public school and am so glad that I sent my daughter to this school. She was homeschooled until ninth grade and Newlife made the transition smoothless for her. The Principal is incredible and very supportive. The teachers are extremely caring and supportive of my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

My son started New Life as a seventh grader. He was doing poorly in the public school and since we switched him to New Life, his whole life has changed dramatically. He loves everything about New Life. He is now a tenth grader and wouldn't change schools for anything. He loves all of his teachers, the classes, and despite what one of the other reviewers said, he loves the music program. If your child needs structure, this is a great school for him/her. My son said there are no individual groups of kids that hang out together, whenever there is a party, all the kids in the class are invited, nobody is left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

We have been at New Life for two years now, my kids are in 1st grade and Kindergarten and so far have been very pleased with the school. Most of the teachers at NLA seem to be in the right profession; they are just gifted and know how to treat each child as special. Specifically, we had a wonderful experience with Mrs. Thigpen (pre-K) teacher - she is God sent. Your kids will love her -- she is so sincere. This is just one I have mentioned in particular, but there are so many teachers like her too all over the school. The only down side is the cost. I would love to keep my children there, but I don't know how much longer we can afford it. Academically and Biblically, they are strong too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

5 star rating. This school is above most other schools in academics and building great character. Sports are excellent too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

The quality of the academic programs are very lacking. They just give a lot of worthless homework that usually took me 5 hours a day to complete. New Life has very few AP classes, and does not do a good job of preparing you for the AP tests. The availability of music is nowhere near public schools. They only offer band, and choir, and a small vocal group called Morningstar. If you are looking for a solid music program, New Life is not the place you want to go - trust me. After switching schools, I do not regret leaving New Life at all. The teachers in my new school are so much more motivated, and they are willing to challenge their students and get the most out of them. *The homework load is ridiculous.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2006

I love this school. At first, I hated it. That was before I went to a public school. The uniforms are a lot more comfortable to me than trying to figure out what to wher in the morning. I love NLA!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2006

We had an absolutely wonderful year. We were new to the school this year and found it to be an encouraging environment in academics, spiritual and personal growth and exceptionally caring. The Administration from Admissions to Administrator were excellent to work with. The teachers were great to work with. If there was a down side it would be in the area of consistently upholding the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

New Life Academy is a great school. Our 3 kids started there in 3rd, 7th ,and 10th grade - two have graduated and gone on to college, the last one will be a junior this year. The NLA teachers are the best - they really care about the kids and want the best for them. The teachers are excellent Christian role models. My kids learn not only academics, but how to be a caring, loving, serving Christian in today's world. The teachers reinforce the values we have as a family. The athletic opportunities and the coaches have also been a positive influence on my boys. They have learned teamwork and self-confidence. They have had opportunities to play sports that they probably wouldn't have had at a large public school. We have no family in town, but we consider the teachers, coaches, and families of NLA part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

New Life Academy is both good and bad. The students seem to enjoy their small, discussion type classes and most teachers are always willing to help. The bad thing about New Life is that they don't offer many extracirricular activities. All they have is sports! They only tend to have 2-3 different sports per season though- Fall: Soccer, Volleyball, Football(played with a different school because New Life is such a small school to have their own team) Winter: Basketball, and Cheerleading. Spring: Baseball, Softball, and Golf. Students cannot be involved in sports unless they average a C+ or above, which is a pretty good idea. Overall, New Life Academy is a great environment for students wishing to experience small classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Sorry, but New Life Academy is not the greatest school. The quality of the classes is very much lacking, and it has much less to offer than a public school. Furthermore, New Life Academy has no extracurricular activities except for sports. The only thing I like about the school is their vigorous emphasis on the Bible and chapel with the childrens involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2004

New Life Academy is one of the best private schools that exist in the state of Minnesota. I have researched a lot of school and this academy ranks tops with its academics, licensed teachers, moral focus, and welcoming environment. It has very high ACT scores, 96% of its graduates continue on to college, and the teachers actually care about my children, not to mention they are all educated professionals. My children and I are proud to be a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

New Life Church is wonderful however, New Life Academy leaves much to be desired. My niece was pulled out after first grade because of the teacher's lack of any type of coordinated curriculum, lack of teacher-student, one-on-one assistance and/or concern. Teacher had personal problems that carried over into the classroom on a daily basis. Just a horrible experience for a first grade child.


Posted January 9, 2004

I have two high school age students at the school and believe it's a superior education to what we came from (a public school 5 years ago). As it is college prep, the grading scale is high, which makes it difficult for a more 'average' student to make the honor roll. Even the non-AP courses are demanding, but the teachers are readily available and are willing to help. Their home phone numbers are published in the directory, and they are willing to take calls at home and help students as needed. Students are challenged at all levels. As a Christian school, students study the bible and learn to apply Christian principles to their daily lives. Students graduate well-prepared for college, and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My son went there through 5th grade. We are trying to transfer him to another school for 6th grade but are on a waiting list. Up through 5th grade, I found the history and science curriculum very lacking. It seems Bible class is given a higher priority at the expense of history and science. Very disappointing. Spelling, English are very well done and the Math is superior. They really push the math. In 4th grade, the homework level was way over the top. It took at least 1 - 3 hours each night. 5th grade was much more appropriate. Since its a private school, you are always asked to donate more and more. They do a wonderful job with younger students and having musical programs, etc. As a parent, you have to get there very early to get a good seat to see your child in the performances, though. All in all, a great school for elementary, but I feel it's time to pull my son out for a more balanced education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Black 3% 9%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 6% (2010)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 88% (2010)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2010)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 3% (2010)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2010)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Northwestern College
Bethel University
University of Minnesota
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cade Lambert
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Admissions at 651-757-4313
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (651) 459-6194

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Extracurricular options
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • available for Dist 833 familie
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • District 833 resources
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • International Students
  • Mock Trial
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
168
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
203

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Northwestern College
Bethel University
University of Minnesota
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2010
2 year college - 6%
4 year college - 88%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 3%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6758 Bailey Rd
Woodbury, MN 55016
Website: Click here
Phone: (651) 459-4121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Special Education Esy
South St. Paul, MN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT