Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12 & Ungraded
Public
Avon, MS
Students enrolled: 418

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverside High School 4

Posted March 07, 2014
- a community member
I am a proud freshman at Riverside High School, the proud home of the Bulldogs. I think Riverside is an amazing school. Our principal and teachers are wonderful. They push us to be better, because they know we can. I think others should know that Riverside is a welcoming school and it is kind of like a second home to some of us kids. The administrators are warm and welcoming. What I like about Riverside is that they seem to care about us and are fun and just all around great. Our school could improve by having more extracurricular activities and more field trips.

Riverside High School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
The only good ratings this school gets is from the students..... I don't think I could have given you a reliable opinion of the quality of education I received from MY high school when I was a kid....Those students aren't going to realize they received a poor education until they become adults..... rely on the NON STUDENT comments about this school!!!!! I wouldn't be shocked to find out the teachers encouraged the students to write 5 star reviews to make them look better..... very poor school... but unless you want your kids to go to an all black school or pay for private school...its all you have in the area!!


Riverside High School 1

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
I must agree with the parent who moved to MS and her child struggled. The communication is HORRIBLE. The teachers are all about watching to see what a child does that they don't like such as stepping off the mat in the milk line. Then of course the teacher makes the child throw away their milk as their form of discipline which is totally illegal. Yes I caught them doing this on not one but two occasions. Belive me by the time I finished with them they were making Negotiations with my lawyer and vowed to never let this happen again. The kindergardin teachers are the absolute WORST. They are mean and cruel to these children. The are the very least thing from being a mentor. The have the worst attitude I've ever seen. My child was horrified of them and would cry every single day because she didn't want to get yelled at when she made a simple mistake. This school is HORRIBLE

Riverside High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
I also am a former student of Riverside. I am planning on student teaching in one semester, and there is no doubt in my mind that if I were to practice there, the faculty and staff would be more than happy to have me around. As a kid these people taught me reading, writing, and arithmetic-- as an adult they will show me how to manage a classroom and excell in my career. --Clay Daniel

Riverside High School 2

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
My family and I moved to MS 2years ago, and the lack of leadership at Riverside is astounding. Communication, well, there is none unless if I call or just go up to the school. My son has struggled since we moved here and getting teachers help and input is harder than pulling teeth. Without continuous phone calls by myself and husband, there would be no communication about my sons progress and what can be done to help him. I have requested to have him 'tested' for 2 years now with it still not being done. The students have to wear there school clothes for gym. That is horrible, and until High School age, there are no assigned lockers so the students have to break there backs carrying ALL of there books from class to class. Overall, Riverside -sadly- is the best public school around the area.


Riverside High School 3

Posted May 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Riverside High School 4

Posted November 30, 2008
- a community member
I am a former student at Riverside and it is a good school for the most of it. The girls junior high basketball team is very very good they brought in a 2nd place trophy from the division games. Riverside is a great school all together

Riverside High School 4

Posted April 08, 2008
- a student
I am a former student from Riverside. I loved it. Most of the teachers try, but there are some that don't care, and a lot of the students have the whole I don't care what happens attitude. I think thats more on the home backgrounds more than the schools fault. Kimberly Cudd


Riverside High School 3

Posted November 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Riverside High School 0
no rating

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
The teachers are wonderful and try their best to achieve for a great learning enviroment. As a former student I would recommend Riverside High only because its the only decent public school left in Washington County! Well I love it here in Texas now. Doug Causey

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverside High School
939 Riverside Rd, Avon, MS  38723
(662) 335-4527
Last modified Riverside High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverside High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top