Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Springs High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2012

Its a very helpful school that get your kids what they need in order to pass on to collage.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2009

Administration is workin' hard to stop fights, and ha greatly stopped fights. Students now know the consequences of their actions. For the students who want to learn the sky is the limit at Bay Springs, but the drop out rate is still their but very rare. Most students leave with friends and a Diploma.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

Bay Springs High School is a great school to attend. I been going to BSHS for my whole life, and it seems likes it's getting better and better every years. It's not a horrible school!! We do have some students that start actin a fool every once in a while, but if you think about it almost every school have that problem. I'm a Sophomore and I hope it keeps getting better every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2006

Bay Springs High School has highly qualified teachers, especially in Math, Science, English, and Social Studies. Students have consistently done well in the state tests. Our sport teams have had many successes. It is such a pleasue to be associated with such a good school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2005

This is the best school in the West Jasper District. I recommend this school to any parent that is looking for a good quality school for their children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2004

This is one of the most horrible schools that it has ever been my experience to encounter. The teachers could care less about their students and even butter grades for those that they consider teacher's pets. overall i would recomend that any parent thinking of sending their child here should greatly reconsider.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
76%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
66%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 50%
White 6% 46%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 Hwy 18
Bay Springs, MS 39422
Phone: (601) 764-4151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sylva Bay Academy
Bay Springs, MS






Heidelberg Academy
Heidelberg, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT