Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

This is an amazing school. I attended all four years of high school here and loved it. Through all of my behavior problems they NEVER gave up hope and kept fighting. I asked for drop out papers several times and they knew I was better than that so I was refused to get them. They always believed in me and now I am in my second year in college doing amazing! Thank you bay high for being such an amazing school and changing so many young lives for the better!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2013

I really like this school. I now have my 3rd child there. They are very good about staying in touch. Their principal is very nice and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My school is Bay High School and I believe that this is one of the most impressive schools in America today. The principle is an awesome, very hands on and always ready to help a parent/child with anything that they need. The teachers are excellent, very in tune with the children and always there ready, willing and able. I do believe that my son has blossomed from attending this school. It's a very different school, but in a fantastic way. I have never seen a school come together before in such a fashion that all involved work together for one common goal, to make sure our children grow up happy, healthy and ready to take on the world in any way. I commend every one at Bay High, staff, students, teachers and parents alike for coming together. I wish all schools were like Bay High School, then we, as parents, could be assured that our children and their tomorrow's will be all that it should be, awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Bay High School has a friendly and equal opportunity environment for all students. Bay has a high performing athletic department in all areas, especially teams like Dance and Basketball. Bay High has excellent academic ratings and will provide a safe environment for the students. I have been a student there for three years, and I enjoy this school very much. Compared to those around it, I'd still choose Bay High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2009

the school has gone done hill in the past year. it cares more about its image then the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

This school has become so amazing. I couldn't imagine going to another school. Our new principal has done so much to get Bay High a new reputation. The staff is doing everything they can to get us ready for the ACT and college. Bay High has come a long way. I'm proud to be part of this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

Bay High School is a NEW SCHOOL! The new administration is phenomenal! Bay High is headed straight for level 5 status! If you are looking at this other reviews, teachers should be worried about cell phones in class, its a distraction, how is your child going to learn effectively while texting in class.. I do it, but still its not allowed and f i was caught I would take 100% responsibility. There is a completely new dress code this year, and it is much less strict. Dr. Andy Parker is the new principal, and expects all students to have A's or B's, and if not parents are contacted. This is a wonderful school, and a wonderful, school district, with almost every administrator, having a Phd. in administration. I am proud to be a Bay High Tiger!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

This school is remarkable with great leadership. The new principal is phenomenal and will bring BHS to new heights. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and care about teaching kids academics and real life issues. The kids are wonderful. They are pleasant, respectful and a joy to be around. This is an awesome school to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

This school needs help, the office administrators are not friendly by any means, they judge you ( the parents) before they even speak to you. The principle says one thing and does another, the academics are dumbed down so that our kids are two years behind other state. There is no real concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

My daughter attended this school until Hurrican Katrina hit in Aug 2005. We both felt very positive about the school and the teachers there. As a parent I did feel I could talk with the administrators at the school and did so to a positive resolution of any problems or questions that might arise. My daughter was also able to attend the Hancock Vocational center durring one class segment. Also she was involved the the very well developed Band program at the school. Overall a very good school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I have three children that go to Bay High. From what I have learned from them is that teachers are more worried about who has their cell phone out or who does not have a belt on then what they should teach in the class room. This whole uniform thing I think also has a big effect on what the kids do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I currently have two children attending this school and from what I have seen it appears to be a good school, but the principle should be more concerned with other issues than whether or not you'r shirt is untucked! There are some drug problems that need to be addresses! Some students don't even feel safe going to the restroom! For the most part the teaching staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2005

don't enjoy my child being there. he's not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

This is best Pubic school on Mississippi coast.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 17, 2004

If the bay st. Louis school board were smart they would just leave the subject of school uniforms alone. They should have put other enforcements in to our school besides school uniforms. The students expression of what they feel like is at stake. Most parents would not care but, we are young adults and should be able to make the decision of what we wear. The bay st. Louis school board says, 'the uniforms are in place for many reasons such as to get you ready for the job force.' Well, let's think for a second, what is the point of going four years in high school wearing the uniforms;then for some, going off to college for four years and not wearing them. That canceled out their purpose! Can't they just think for a second? That is what our tax dollars are paying them for right?
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2004

My child currently attends this school and I am disappointed over the disappearance of the arts activities, physical education and parental involvement. I would like to see more parents get involved with what is happening within the school systems. Teachers and couselors cannot do it alone, it is not just their job, those are our children they' re teaching. We need more community involvement with the improvement of race relations, pre-college testing and preparation for college. The ACT, SAT and other test dates should be posted throughout the school so that students are aware of test dates, times and places. We are a community of parents that can make a difference if we want to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

As the parent of a recent grad, I commend the current principle for her ideas to turn this school around. I have seen some improvements. However, I believe we have far to go. Areas needing improvement are , race relations...there are big problems lying beneath the surface here. A formal board that includes students, staff and parents is a suggestion. And most importantly, a better program for preparing incoming freshmen for academic structure for preparing for university..not just the local jr. college. Most Seniors were not aware that they should have started taking the A.C.T. long before Senior year. Explain to students the gravity of the ACT score..Educate kids on how to get to college. Our economy depends on their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2003

I am a former student and my daughter is a student. I am very pleased with the way problems as well as accomplishments are handled here. It has grown a lot since I went there and has added numerous activities and courses for the childern to learn from. As with all schools you (as a parent) are going to think your child is right no matter what but here they (the staff) seem to have a well balanced attitude (toward fairness). The staff will get to the bottom of an issue before a decision is made and when one is made it is made fairly.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
94%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 46%
Black 21% 50%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (228) 466-0883

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 Blue Meadow Rd
Bay St Louis, MS 39520
Website: Click here
Phone: (228) 467-5297

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Christian Academy
Bay St. Louis, MS


Our Lady Academy
Waveland, MS


St Stanislaus High School
Bay St. Louis, MS


Pass Christian High School
Pass Christian, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT