Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady Academy

Private | 7-12 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bay St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Our Lady Academy is a great school. The school teaches young women how to think and not what to think. As a 2013 graduate who was in public school and then transferred to OLA, I can accurately tell you that the curriculum is more challenging than public school curriculum in the area because OLA is a college prep school. "Bullying" is typically only a problem in JH when the girls are getting used to the transition from elementary to the JH environment. While not every school is perfect OLA is still a good choice for your daughter. I disagree what another commentor said about SSC having a higher standard because they do the same "buying and selling spots and punishments" that OLA is accused of. My parents didn't have a lot of money and struggled to send me to OLA and I greatly appreciate their sacrifice because I gained a lot from my time there. There are also a few financial aid options at OLA to help out students and their parents such as Work Study and scholarship opportunities.


Posted May 30, 2013

My daughter currently attends Our Lady Academy and she loves it. She enjoys going to school and loves intramurals, sisterhoods , retreats, mercy day and so much more! Our Lady Academy is an excellent school to go to. My daughter is always telling me how close her class is and how much she loves her class. This school offers many opportunities for girls , a school like no other. I see comments about some girls getting bullied and they want to be taken out of OLA. There will be bullies everywhere you go , there is no perfect school. I absolutely love the school's mission statement "fitting young women for earth without unfitting them for heaven". This is a great school. More than half of the girls that graduate get scholarships. Sincerely, a PROUD parent ;-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

My daughter has been in this school for the last 2 years and is not returning next year. While it breaks my heart because her brother is at SSC, I will not continue to have my daughter in that environment. It is not a money issue for us but a morel one. I understand in the past it was not this way and stood for something right and girls were proud to attend this school, but now it is full of catty, mean, vindictive girls. The administration worries more about money they do the standards the school was built upon. Money buys spots on teams, buys ways out of trouble and anything else needed. My daughter did not have problems, but I don t want this example to be show and this to be what she sees so young in life. Most of the girls hate the school and the reason they stay is a popularity community ranking for the parents with saying they have a daughter that goes there. I love SSC and wish OLA would hold the girls up to more of the ethics they hold for the boys. I will not pay for this. It s sad when the better alternative is the public school. Also they say the academic are higher than public, but they are not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

I have been teaching at OLA for 21 years and consider it to be the best available school for young women to develop intellectually, spiritually and morally. We constantly address issues such as bullying. Recently we have divided the entire school community into "sisterhoods", each based on a Mercy value. These include Diversity, Justice, Hospitality, Dignity and Stewardship. We are not perfect, but we truely believe we are "Equiping young women for earth without unfitting them for heaven."
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2011

My daughter currently goes to this school, but I am considering taking her out. We do not have the kind of money most of the other girls have, so now my daughter is a target for bullying. She comes home crying most days. Not very good moral values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

Our Lady Academy deserves the highest of praise. OLA is a nurturing environment for young women and promotes not only excellent academics but community service, top-notch athletics, and moral values as well. There is no amount of money a parent could spend that could deliver such value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

We pray that you can get this school up and running again !Since Katrina many have had to go elsewhere and it is not by choice. Best of luck to all in Bay St. Louis, MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

My daughter attended OLA 7th-12th grade and recently graduated in 2004. My daughter has been in private schools all her life. She is a highly intelligent young woman with outstanding faith, morals, goals, and achievements. We are very proud of her and our decision to send our daughter to the most elite school on the Coast.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 41%
Black 2% 54%
Hispanic 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Biloxi
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

222 S Beach Blvd
Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
Phone: (228) 467-7048

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Stanislaus High School
Bay St. Louis, MS


Bay Waveland Middle School
Bay St. Louis, MS


Central Christian Academy
Bay St. Louis, MS


Central Christian Academy
Bay St. Louis, MS


Pass Christian Middle School
Pass Christian, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT