Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Biloxi High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 23 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2013

The school's a few eggs short of a dozen, but it still delivers a tasteful omelet. The academic and extracurricular opportunities are nothing short of amazing, there's so much to do that you would have to go out of your way not to get involved. The administration is really top tier when it comes to discipline and behavior; fellow students may call it Alcatraz, but I call it a safe learning environment. Biloxi High offers well over 10 AP classes and the staff offers generous assistance to any of those who may need the extra mile or desire to sharpen their GPA. Multiple tutoring sessions and retest opportunities have a late bus running in the afternoon to remedy the issue of needing parental transportation. Multiple club, organizations, sports activities, and overall kind student body means a new student moving in will have plenty of opportunities to socialize and interact. Biloxi High's generous AP opportunities and extracurricular choices along with its remarkable staffing and healthy student body make it an amazing place for a young adult to excel in his studies. For the serious student, assistance with post-secondary education is even offered. This is an omelet worth eating.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2012

They don't teach at this school. Teachers could barely say students names. And its was part of the constellation!


Posted August 16, 2011

I went here for my freshman year. This school is awesome, the teachers care and give respect As long As you do your part. The atmosphere is great and diverse. We even have our own cafe. The athletics are off the chain. I'm from DC, school doesn't get much better than this. Sadly I have to go back to DC. if your child attends this school, be thankful because he/she could be going to a shook like mine with 3 clubs, no football team, rude teachers that don't care and swear in class, fights very week, 9 security guards because of the potential danger. It could be worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2011

We came from a block scheduled school and my son lost 6 months of schooling. They did not have courses to match up where he came from and he is had to take algebra for a second time because of this. He is a straight B student and has never had any trouble. We are in the military and if you live on Keesler AFB this is the school district you have to go to unless you pay out of pocket. The school policy in regards to cell phones etc is oudated and parents have no control. The School Board answers to no one and come across as close minded bullies. Run far and fast. Its no wonder other states so outclass them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I have a son who attended this school for 2 years. The prinicpal is rude and so is her secretary. She was allowed to hire her own daughter AND son-in-law to teach at the school. After several disappointments with the academics, sports programs, and attitude of the principal, we removed our son and placed him in a better school system. By the way, he was never in any trouble and an Honor Roll student. It's a shame they lose the good students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

My son is a freshman--the first freshman class for this school since it expanded and the district restructured. So far, I'm not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It's a great school, with a caring Principal and staff. They have even been featured on the national news! Something positive for Mississippi!!


Posted August 31, 2009

Moving into the Biloxi School district was horrible. Yes, the High School is a very nice facility, but the curriculum was work that I had been doing in the sixth grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

Just graduated in May of 2008. Greatest experience of my life. The education I received from BHS is priceless in how much it prepared me for life.


Posted August 7, 2008

BHS is an excellent school. The adminstration is wonderful and the campus is state of the art. Biloxi Public Schools have made tremendous progress in the last 15 years. Any child has the oppurtunity to thrive in this diverse and safe enviroment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 31, 2006

Biloxi High school is a very good school. I love all the programs the school have. Parents can get involved with everything. The teachers are excellent role models. I love Biloxi High School. The academic programs is exquisite. They have many extracurricular programs the students can join. I love Biloxi High School band program. The instructor are very serious and everything they do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2006

As the parent of a Biloxi High grad and current senior, I have to say that the quality of education my children have received is outstanding. The high school is a new, sprawling complex full of the latest innovations available and highly qualified teachers. Biloxi High was featured on national news in 2004 as being one of the first school districts in the country to use security cameras in every classroom. The school consistently rates a top-level 5 each year. I have no complaints and only praise for its staff and administration. Keesler military members who have been told (as we were)that Ocean Springs is the only school district worth anything in south Mississippi, take another look at Biloxi. Mine attended both. High ACT and SAT scores are common here and athletic students will love the new artificial turf stadium and modern basketball, soccer and baseball facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

As a junior of Biloxi High School, I have been blessed with a superb atmosphere for learning. Unlike many schools, Biloxi High offers a dizzying array of electives and vocational opportunities, all of which are both sincere and enjoyable. My school has helped me evolved into a well-rounded and social person, and with a wide range of ethnicities, personalities, and resources, Biloxi High has ultimately made me a citizen of the world, albeit I have never left the South. So if you're a military parent or student and are worried about moving to the boondocks of MS, don't believe the stereotype. Biloxi High School breaks such stereotypes, and not only meets the needs of superior students and disabled individuals but goes above and beyond the mean. Thanks to my school, I'm to attend Tulane University for a Ph.D in Chemical Engineering and a Masters in Biomolecular and Cellular Biology.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2005

I just moved to Washington and I'm a sophomore. In my opinion, no other school can compare to it's greatness. The teachers are really great, they'll go out of their way to help out with anything weather they teach it or not; the kids there are actually just as helpful as the teachers in most cases; everything is clean and in it's place in all classrooms. The hallways make the whitest of white look dirty. So if you're a parent who thinks biloxi or MS in genoral is terrible, it's not. The schools there have outstanding standards for it's students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 22, 2004

I graduated from B.H.S. about four years ago and I recently completed an undergraduate degree. B.H.S. nurtured a love for learning in me that was different than other students enrolled in my college classes. I am proud to be a product of Biloxi High School and it shows wherever I go.I will attend graduate school in the fall thanks to the knowledge and guidance from B.H.S. faculty and staff.It is a wonderful learning institution.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 14, 2004

As a 2003 graduate of the Biloxi Public School district I was very impressed. Now that I am a freshman in college th knowledge that I have obtained from B.H.S was very beneficial.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

I think that Biloxi High is a great school with high education values. They also have great school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

330 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
93%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
79%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 46%
Black 33% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1845 Richard Dr
Biloxi, MS 39532
Website: Click here
Phone: (228) 435-6105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lopez School
Biloxi, MS



The Learning Center
Gulfport, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT