Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Union Attendance Center

Public | K-12 & ungraded | 12 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2009

I am a grandparent and have two children attending East Union. My GRAND daughter is in kindergarten and GRAND son is in the second grade. I have only had the opportunity to meet their teachers twice but they both(their aides as well) seemed like very caring individuals. My GRAND son attended kindergarten at East Union and I think he got a wonderful start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

All 5 of my children have attended ( 3 still there) and I would not move them to any other school. The teachers are well educated and caring...the staff is attentive and happy to help with any issue. My children love the school and the grades ( all honor roll... all the time) reflect the quality of the facilty and staff. I applaud everyone... parent... teacher alike.. who work hard to make EU the great school it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I would have to strongly disagree with the last review. My children just started East Union this year coming from a private school and we are relatively new to community and I must say that I am overly impressed with the staff/students. I believe that the school is like any other that there are cliques but as I went to a much larger school these little cliques are not nearly as big or threatening. I have son who has a lot of special needs and we have been treated with respect and confidentiality that I admire. The teachers are well-rounded and eager to help in any area. The principal is just a phone call away and willing to resolve any problem that you call him concerning. No problem is too big or too small for him to give you a few minutes of his time.I'm proud to be an Urchin Mom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I really think this school could use alot of work. If your child does not have a certain last name or play basketball they do not have a chance. No one cares about those students who do not fit in those areas.


Posted April 22, 2008

The school is close knit and is very caring although it is lacking academicly. If you are interested in top bowling or baseball teams you have found the right school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

my grandson attends east union and i think it is a wonderful school


Posted August 22, 2007

Its a great scool but we need more kids!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2005

East Union is a very good school. It is in a rural area and has a very well-rounded student body. They offer some of the best special education services in the area. They have very highly trained teachers in all subject areas as well as principals who are very concerned and caring. The only drawback for this school is that it doesn't offer football. It has most other sports, however. I would recommend this school for a good education and caring teachers/staff.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 46%
Black 4% 50%
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • Tim Carter

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1548 St Hwy 9 South
Blue Springs, MS 38828
Website: Click here
Phone: (662) 534-6920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT