Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brandon High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1468 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2012

My daughter attended Brandon HS starting her Sophmore year. Previously she attended Pearl HS. Brandon HS is all about their sport programs. They spend little to no money on Band, or Arts programs. This could be due to the fact that they have to share funds with all the other schools in Rankin County. The band program was so bad, that my daughter dropped out. Previously she was 2nd chair out of 35 clarinets at Pearl High. In some of her classes, students were allowed to text and use their cell phones. In one of her classes, the teacher surfed the internet almost every day. I was checking out my daughter from school one day and I witnessed a couple of students checking theirselves out without a parent, etc. Students are allowed to leave the campus at lunch time to travel into town to eat. It seemed like a school with no rules. If you have a choice of the two schools, go with Pearl High School. They have much more to offer. Brandon High School is like a brand name tennis shoe. You are paying for the name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

We moved to Brandon to get my son into this school starting in 9th grade. He was passing in his last school, but got Ds and Fs all the way through 9th, 10th, and 11th grade. He dropped out in 12th grade because he would have been 4 credits short on being able to graduate and even one class that he was supposed to have had in 9th grade, he had never even taken, so he had no school credit for it. He could have taken summer school each summer to catch up, but we never received his report cards until after summer school had already started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

I am glad that my child is out of this school. This school continues to rest on its laurels, and is not nearly the quality school that it once was. The principal spends most of his time hunkered away in his office, and has little or no contact with students or faculty. The only effective administrator has recently retired. There is a deficiency in the depth of foreign languages offered by the school. Students are not encouraged to strive for admission to selective colleges/universities, and the counselors have been known to de-emphasize advanced classes. If you are looking for the best high school for your child, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

The best experience I have had educationally and athletically. Brandon High School is where you should send your kids to school If you are moving to the area. Great staff of teachers that care about Students and their learning and administrators that are determined to see The teachers and school do what is best for kids.


Posted April 28, 2010

My daughter is a Junior at Brandon High and we love it. The school leadership is fantastic. Buddy Bailey has a great vision for the school and the students. They stay on top of everything. It is quite evident that they are truly concerned for the students as well as the teachers. It is a great environment for everyone. My daughter comes home and talks about her day and what she learned. She has felt comfortable enough to try out for new things, which says to me she feels safe and loved at the school. I would recommend this school to anyone if you want a good quality education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Strong teachers, but a good number of them seem to find it necessary to show students 'who is the boss'. Counselors and college counselor are a joke. My child has received little to no help in the college application/financial aid process. Students do not receive information on selective or out-of state colleges. Very political school, with a principal who has no leadership or management skills. This school is on a downslide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

My daughter is currently a senior at Brandon High School and her experiences at Brandon High have been excellent. She has done well academically. My son graduated from Brandon High School in 2004 and transitioned well into college. He graduated in 2008 from University of MS magna cum laude. I attribute a portion of his success to the foundation provided him at Brandon High School. Excellent group of faculty and strong administrative leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

As a parent of 2 daughters that have attended BHS I am very satisfied with the overall atmosphere at BHS. With Buddy Bailey as the principle I am certain that in a few years everything about the school will me an A plus. He is very concerned about the students and has a great vision for the teachers to teach at an outstanding level across the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

The change in leadership at BHS will be a positive change. The new principal has the welfare of the students at heart and has already proven that he can not only lead but hier a great staff (Brandon Middle School) The administrative staff along with Mr. Bailey will continue to have a positive impact on an already great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

The English and Math Departments at Brandon High School are great springboards for higher education, as well as the Science Department (depending on the teacher). The History Department lacks because the instructors are comprised mostly of coaches. Although BHS has a great athletic program, it is very political. BHS is currently getting a tendency to hire young, right-out-of-college teachers, which makes me worry because experience is the best conveyer of educational concepts. The other down side to BHS is the community - because the Southern Baptist churches are so heavily involved in the government and schools, students are impressed to frown upon questioning the conservative beliefs they believe (therefore they don't know why they believe it).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2006

As a student at Brandon, I find the scholastic and athletic programs satisfactory overall. I am bothered, however, by the low emphasis on pursuits outside the sports arena, the infighting among faculty and administration, and the schoolwide 'let's-just-pass-the-state-tests' attitude. I also find it horrendous that the school needs five (yes 5!) 'principals' to run a school with merely one thousand students. There are, however, very strong programs (and excellent teachers) in the fields of history, science, mathematics, Spanish, and theatre/language arts for those students who take advantage of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

Outstanding!!! My daughters went to college fully prepared for the real world. The teachers really do care for the student as a whole. If parents think otherwise, they should drop in for a visit without notice and witness it 1st hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Not only is the school full of bias politics but the teachers as a whole are rude and often ridiculous (with exceptions of Mr. and Mrs. Wallace and Mrs. Blankenship). I do not suggest to anyone sending their child into this environment. And further more the day that my child graduated was the best day of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

BHS is a very welcoming school with great teachers ready to teach the students what they need to know to get ready for the real world. They have an excellent principle who is always walking the halls with a smile. The only negative thing about BHS is that they're a few racial issues I have seen and TOO many fights!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2005

Academic programs are outstanding; band program is very good; sports leaders are however very political and do not encourage multiple sport participation. and in the sports field, its who you know rather than how well you play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

I am a BHS alumnus (class of '97) and am currently a doctoral candidate in a nationally ranked (top 10) Organizational Behavior program. I can unequovically say that my experiences at Brandon prepared me for future success. Excellent teachers at BHS provide the foundation for an unquenching thirst for knowledge and understanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2005

I am a student at Brandon High and I am deeply involved with the many activities that the school provides. BHS supplies many activities and events, along with great teachers that allow all of the students to be able to learn more than the 'required material'. The teachers not only prepare us for college but for the real world. ~Class '06
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2004

Teachers and administrators at BHS are concerned about the total development of their students. Not only their academic development, but their social, spiritual and community growth as well. This school provided a wonderful springboard for the challenges of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

Parent involvement? there are only 4 responses on this site. What does that say in itself?


Posted November 4, 2003

Brandon provides a safe learning environment and the opportunity to get a quality education. A young person leaves Brandon High School with an education commensurate with their effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

363 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 46%
Black 27% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3090 Hwy 18
Brandon, MS 39042
Phone: (601) 825-2261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakeside School
Whitfield, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT