Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
1,468 students|Rankin Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brandon High School 1

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended Brandon HS starting her Sophmore year. Previously she attended Pearl HS. Brandon HS is all about their sport programs. They spend little to no money on Band, or Arts programs. This could be due to the fact that they have to share funds with all the other schools in Rankin County. The band program was so bad, that my daughter dropped out. Previously she was 2nd chair out of 35 clarinets at Pearl High. In some of her classes, students were allowed to text and use their cell phones. In one of her classes, the teacher surfed the internet almost every day. I was checking out my daughter from school one day and I witnessed a couple of students checking theirselves out without a parent, etc. Students are allowed to leave the campus at lunch time to travel into town to eat. It seemed like a school with no rules. If you have a choice of the two schools, go with Pearl High School. They have much more to offer. Brandon High School is like a brand name tennis shoe. You are paying for the name.

Brandon High School 1

Posted March 18, 2012
- a parent
We moved to Brandon to get my son into this school starting in 9th grade. He was passing in his last school, but got Ds and Fs all the way through 9th, 10th, and 11th grade. He dropped out in 12th grade because he would have been 4 credits short on being able to graduate and even one class that he was supposed to have had in 9th grade, he had never even taken, so he had no school credit for it. He could have taken summer school each summer to catch up, but we never received his report cards until after summer school had already started.


Brandon High School 1

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
I am glad that my child is out of this school. This school continues to rest on its laurels, and is not nearly the quality school that it once was. The principal spends most of his time hunkered away in his office, and has little or no contact with students or faculty. The only effective administrator has recently retired. There is a deficiency in the depth of foreign languages offered by the school. Students are not encouraged to strive for admission to selective colleges/universities, and the counselors have been known to de-emphasize advanced classes. If you are looking for the best high school for your child, look elsewhere.

Brandon High School 5

Posted July 07, 2011
- a community member
The best experience I have had educationally and athletically. Brandon High School is where you should send your kids to school If you are moving to the area. Great staff of teachers that care about Students and their learning and administrators that are determined to see The teachers and school do what is best for kids.

Brandon High School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a Junior at Brandon High and we love it. The school leadership is fantastic. Buddy Bailey has a great vision for the school and the students. They stay on top of everything. It is quite evident that they are truly concerned for the students as well as the teachers. It is a great environment for everyone. My daughter comes home and talks about her day and what she learned. She has felt comfortable enough to try out for new things, which says to me she feels safe and loved at the school. I would recommend this school to anyone if you want a good quality education for your child.


Brandon High School 3

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
Strong teachers, but a good number of them seem to find it necessary to show students 'who is the boss'. Counselors and college counselor are a joke. My child has received little to no help in the college application/financial aid process. Students do not receive information on selective or out-of state colleges. Very political school, with a principal who has no leadership or management skills. This school is on a downslide.

Brandon High School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is currently a senior at Brandon High School and her experiences at Brandon High have been excellent. She has done well academically. My son graduated from Brandon High School in 2004 and transitioned well into college. He graduated in 2008 from University of MS magna cum laude. I attribute a portion of his success to the foundation provided him at Brandon High School. Excellent group of faculty and strong administrative leadership!

Brandon High School 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
As a parent of 2 daughters that have attended BHS I am very satisfied with the overall atmosphere at BHS. With Buddy Bailey as the principle I am certain that in a few years everything about the school will me an A plus. He is very concerned about the students and has a great vision for the teachers to teach at an outstanding level across the board.


Brandon High School 5

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
The change in leadership at BHS will be a positive change. The new principal has the welfare of the students at heart and has already proven that he can not only lead but hier a great staff (Brandon Middle School) The administrative staff along with Mr. Bailey will continue to have a positive impact on an already great school.

Brandon High School 4

Posted May 08, 2007
- a student
The English and Math Departments at Brandon High School are great springboards for higher education, as well as the Science Department (depending on the teacher). The History Department lacks because the instructors are comprised mostly of coaches. Although BHS has a great athletic program, it is very political. BHS is currently getting a tendency to hire young, right-out-of-college teachers, which makes me worry because experience is the best conveyer of educational concepts. The other down side to BHS is the community - because the Southern Baptist churches are so heavily involved in the government and schools, students are impressed to frown upon questioning the conservative beliefs they believe (therefore they don't know why they believe it).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brandon High School
3090 Hwy 18, Brandon, MS  39042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (601) 825-2261
Last modified Brandon High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top