Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Byhalia Middle School (5-8)

Public | 5-8 & ungraded | 504 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2012

Why aren't the test scores for this school up to date? Something to be ashamed of?


Posted June 8, 2011

Byhalia is an overall great school! The rating doesn't mean a thing! I have been here since kindergarten and I never had any problem. Lots of students here are have scholarships to colleges and most plan on going to college. One of my friends moved here from Olive Branch Middle School and she said the work here is ALOT harder than over. All we need is recognition and we may even be one of the most success potential in Mississippi.


Posted February 27, 2010

I wish you would just give BMS a chance. BMS has dedicated and highly qualified teachers that need the help of the parents. Parents want the school to raised their children. I wish you could be a fly on the wall and you will see first hand the hard work teachers do that is always overlooked by small minded individuals. Try to encourage or better yet go and visit the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

This school is the worst in the area,I hate that my children have to be students here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

Byhalia Academy is a great school, but we need the help of not just the teachers, but the parents also. We nee the school board to back the school up with the proper equipment students need to explore their mind. This mean making sure the technology within the school system is usable for the students. Let's stay focus on our children and stay positive that this school year will be a great success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

I have had numerous problems with this school in the past but I must make it known that Mr. Reid has done a remarkable job this year. Anytime there has been a situation to arise this year, he has always handled it wonderfully. While he's learned through a lot of trial and errors the past few years, he's definitely stepped up and done a great job this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I'm a student and this is my first year in BMS.Its over all an o.k school the principal and teachers are nice and do a good job setting up events like the award day thing we had. J.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 50%
White 33% 46%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

172 Hwy 309 North
Byhalia, MS 38611
Phone: (662) 838-2591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT