Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Byhalia Elementary School (K-4)

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 592 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

Our schools (Elementary, middle and High school) have all received a bad reputation because of racial inequality caused by the formation of a private academy way back in the early 70's. The truth is the scores are up, way up. The teachers are top notch and really the only lacking is in Parental involvement. The recent recession has caused more students to leave the private schools and join the county schools. Also the troubled Shelby County school district has drove many new families to our area. Our schools have the precieved reputation as to being less than the Lewisburg, Olive Branch or other Desoto County Schools, yet in reality, we are better. I hope to see many other posters here who have the numbers and facts to back up my statements. I am a Grandmother whose child will not enter the system for a few more years, but I want the best school possible for her, and yet keep her in this small rural safe town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

All three of my children attend school here one in 3rd grade, a sophomore and a junior. The principles know each child by name and greets them with a smile every morning! The state testing scores actually were better than Lewisburg School! I'm appalled at the fact that the testing scores have not been updated! This is a small town full of loving parents who are very involved with their children and parent attendance at the school is way up! The teachers are some of the best, most loving and helpful teachers! I highly recommend Byhalia Elementary, Middle and High School to any parent! Indian Pride!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Both of my kids have been going to Byhalia schools since Kindergarten. My oldest just graduated high school last year WITH HONORS and was awarded several scholarships. My youngest child is now a freshman and I am proud to say he is doing great as well. All three schools have improved so much over the years but no one seems willing to acknowledge that. All they want to do is focus on the past. I am proud of the accomplishments that the teachers and students have made. While I no longer have kids in the elementary or middle schools, I still help out over there every chance I get. More parents should take the time to ask what they can do to help the schools instead of constantly complaining about them or using them as a free baby sitting service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have to agree with some of the other comments that more parents should be involved. the school has some nice activities that involve parent interaction, but some parents act like they do not care but want to be the first ones to react when they think their child can do no wrong. From a parents point of view, the school has too many little concession sales or something that involves children having to bring money to school to buy hot chips, juice, and candy. i get tired that every other week, here comes my child with a form about something being sold at school. I told my child that no money is leaving this house because i get broke off sending money for every little thing; and for what? but i do get along well with many of the teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

Could be better if more of our parents would take an interest in their kids. Unfortunately, our school is used more for a daycare. We are lacking parent interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

Parents should always be involved in their child's education. I know sometimes it is difficult depending on personal situations, but it is important to make time for your child. This school is not the best in Mississippi, but with the help of parents and the community to hold the teachers and administrators accountable this school can become a better learning environmnet for the students. We have to start caring about our children and make a point to know what goes on in their lives. Ask questions everyday...make them tell you what went on at school. If something doesn't seem right, then go to the school and find out about it. Lots of great things can happen if more people would become involved!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2006

There is a handful of teachers trying to do there jobs correctly and God bless them; however, too many don't care,are lazy. The building should be leveled and rebuilt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

Unfortunately this school gets worse by the year. I was hoping that with a new pricipal this year, things would be better...boy was I wrong. This year has been about nothing but money. There are a handful of great teachers at this school but they are by far outweighed by the lazy teachers. Most questions asked by parents are mostly answered with 'I don't know' and even an occasional 'It's none of your business'. I have personally tried to help this school numerous times over the years but for the most part, the school basically seems to want to keep the parents in the dark. It's a sad fact that this is the only public school available for my kids to go to. I would love to have the money to send them elsewhere but that just isn't possible. If you have a choice to live elsewhere...DO IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I have 2 children in this school. My oldest son is in constant fear for his safety. He's told me that he sees drugs, guns and knives in school on a daily basis. He's also has reported that the older boys are going into the girls bathroom. WHERE ARE THE TEACHERS? My child is a good student, he does his work, he's polite, he's even kind to everyone he meets. Why should any child be affraid to go to school? And why won't his teachers listen to his fears and concerns?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

New principal in 2004 has negatively impacted educational process. Expecting school to finish lower in ratings due to shrinking or inoperable resources, long term broken facilities, and poor moral of instructional staff as they are not provided what they need when it's needed and advised only at last minute of items known to Principal in advance. Frequently conflicting communications between district support and the Principal shown to me by teachers. Parents, students, and teachers are at a loss and serious questions if the district will become proactive on this crisis. I hope to pull my children from this rapidly failing school before my child has long term damage to their academics. The Principal was Asst Superintendent before and should leave before more damage is done. Leave no child behind this entire school is being left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

My children currently attend this school and are still fairly new to the area. I do not know for sure how bad this school was in the past (but I've heard some horror stories) but I know compared to the school my children attended prior to Henry, Henry comes up lacking severly. The only improvement I can tell of in the past few months is that they finally have a safer way of dropping off and picking up the children. Which I'm sure is thanks to the new principal. My only hope is that he will continue to improve this school. As for my kids I will remove them from this school as soon as I am able and return to the school district they were in and hope they can put their unfortunate time at Henry behind them, because I know they dread going to this school every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

Henry school has become one now. Were not divided and that was the best thing kerry reid could have done.My children are doing much better than they have in the past. And if theres a problem the administration is very efficient in handling it. The school still has a way to go but we are on finally on the right track. Again my hat is off to assistant principal sonya cross and admin. Marche phillips. I feel they should be recognized by name.Parents stay a part of your child's learning and stop criticizing so much, search for the positives and help us to build on them. Everyone pray for your school, teachers, bus drivers, assistants, administration, board,cafeteria employees,superintendents and children they need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

Henry school is in the process of again becoming a respected school like the others in the district. Thank you to kerry reid and his adminstrative staff. I would like to mention two in particular mrs sonya cross and ms marche phillips who are doing a wonderful job in backing mr reid. The children are finally doing better and if there is a teacher student problem, the staff is very efficient in handling the situation.My children are doing better and a lot of others also. Henry is one school not divided and that has done a lot for the henry family.Keep up the good work staff parents support your children and school. And above all god is in control he leads just follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

As a former student of henry, i have accomplished alot in my life, i am a dispatcher for the byhalia police dept. As well as a certified medical assistant. I was shocked to see all these parents complain about the school, but not one stated what they personnaly were doing to help improve the problem, i agree improvements can be made, but speaking as a parent learning starts at home. The parent that stated she did not know that her child did not read well until sat's were taken, should blame no one but herself, we as parents have to reemphasize what our children learn, do not blame the school system, for your lack of parenting. Become a part of your childs school and help improve the curriculum, then if your not satisfied, then you can complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

The tax money spent on this school is wasted. Our children would learn more a home in the fields, as in days of old. At present when asking anything of anyone at this school its I'll ask and get back to you, or Hummmm I can't seem to find that now, or we're working on that. If those in the position to control our children can't keep up with their records, teach our children with the ability to answer simple questions concerning what they are teaching, give our children the ability to place faith in those in control, that what they are learning is in truth something worth learning and that when they look it up in a book that the teachers have taught them correctly and not fed them erroneous information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

This school has improved some over the years, but nothing is done to get the parents involved. The PTA meetings, school programs, etc. are either during the day when most parents are at work or too early for them to get home from work and attend the activity. If the both teachers and parents work together more could be done. Also 9 weeks is too long a period of time between report cards. Parents need to know their childs problems befor a quarter of the year is gone by.


Posted December 1, 2003

My 12 year old was making A's the whole year long,then she took her SAT's & failed every subject.What does this tell you? I was in total shock,I handed her a book to read & I was in tears.How can these teachers tell me at open house how well my daughter is doing & at 12 can barely read. This school needs to be looked into.There are a few good teachers but when your child watches wedding video's & movies during science class something is very wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

To say this school has problems is putting it mildly.There is no control by the teachers. The children who have no problem catching on will succeed, but the ones who have problems....I went to school every time report cards came out because my child would have a failing grade or two. I gave the teachers my phone number and asked them to please call me if my child continued struggling but to no avail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2003

Someone in charge of education in this state needs to pay attention. I have lived in twelve states in my life and have had my child in 6 different schools and this is by far the worst. The school staff is not a choice it is a lack of options! Next time I will listen to other parents before I check my child into a school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 50%
White 39% 46%
Hispanic 11% 3%
Two or more races 2% 0%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

172 Hwy 309 North
Byhalia, MS 38611
Phone: (662) 838-6980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT