Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Caledonia High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 10 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

I was recently hired (last year) as the Graduation Coach at Caledonia High School. I absolutely love this school.Having been in education for 17 years prior to this position, I was simply amazed at the kindness and helpful attitude that I encountered.Everyone was helpful and encouraging as I began this new journey in my career, including the students. The school is small, compared to others that I have encountered and the area is rural.The faculty and staff are amazing and so involved with the students and community.Every student at our school knows that they are not in this alone and it is an amazing feeling to be a part of such a wonderful and successful community of edcators and students! I wish that every school had the atmosphere that Caledonia High School has established.If so,there would be a lot more happy students and parents, not to mention educators.However,as with many educational institutions,we face shortfalls in funding.It would be a wonderful gift to be recognized for this award!We desperately need two more classrooms to help with the number of new students we have.We have a very bright future before us and it involves the continued care and support of our students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2011

I attended that school, and I knew stuff the kids in Florida haven't learned till the second year I moved here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2008

The teachers are great! They care and show so much concern for the students. I cant even describe how wonderful the entire faculty is.


Posted May 20, 2008

I attended Caledonia for two years and found it very unsatisfactory. The education I recieved at the school I feel did not properly prepare me for college. However, I do feel like the teachers are very helpful and involved in students lives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

went to caledoia for 13 years and loved every minute or it. everyone is great even down to the janitors and lunch ladies. cant beat caledonia!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

I went to Caledonia Schools for 13 years and I loved it. The teachers are very helpful and the rest of the staff also. Caledonia is a very good school for your children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2008

I'm a student at Caledonia High, and Caledonia is an awesome school. The academics are great, the atmosphere is really positive, and the staff is amazing. There's not hardly any fights. We all get along pretty well. The staff always tries to help the students with any problems. We've all actually grown stronger as a school after we were hit by a tornado earlier this year, and I believe that the incident proved that we have one of THE best principals a school could ever have!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

We are very pleased with the opportunities our eldest is enjoying at Caledonia High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

A really great school. The faculty and staff are second to none. It is easily the best school in Lowndes county. When we move back to the area Caledonia is the only school that our children will be attending.Great teachers and staff, great cirriculum, great activity programs and sports.If you're looking for a school in the area.....this one is the only one you should consider.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
75%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 46%
Black 23% 50%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Confederate Dr
Caledonia, MS 39740
Phone: (662) 356-2001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Heritage Academy
Columbus, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT