Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Velma Jackson High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Velma Jackson High School 3

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Velma Jackson High School 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
Velma Jackson believe it or not is anice school, not matter how tired i get at times once you make it to school to people you know and pretty much grew up around things get better. the thing that is so good about this school is that it's not that big so it's more hands on and the classes are not that big so you can pay more attention and get more ouuta things. You do have teachers who care and want to see you do betta but it's not there fault that the students don't care or try. So, yes i would recomend this school to someone... not just for my kids!!!!

Velma Jackson High School 1

Posted July 31, 2008
- a student
Velma Jackson staff and students care all about sports now(thats why it is so hard for the teams to win and succeed. Yes back in 2006 and so on, it was fun and excited, but now VJ is boring and full of children running around like wild animals. The education is good, but students there dont really care about it. VJ teaching staff is never together, every year there is always a sum of teachers leaving (include the Principal). There a list of things I can say about VJ, but Im going to make this quick. I am a student here and if you have any sense you will not let your child become one.

Velma Jackson High School 0
no rating

Posted February 28, 2006
- a former student
I think that Velma Jackson can improve on a lot of things. I have enjoyed my years there. Back when I was there we had teachers that really help you. But now I think that the teachers and administrative staff at Velma Jackson are doing a great job keeping the kids out of trouble.


Velma Jackson High School 5

Posted February 02, 2006
- a former student
I think Velma Jackson is an excellent school for your a high-school student to attend.The teachers at this school are very helpful, especially Mrs.Locke,Mr.Hamblin,Major Cline, Sgt.Welch, Mrs.Welch, Mr.Callahan, Mrs.Parks, Mr. Robinson, and so on. Some of the students at Velma are cool, but you have to be careful and pick your friends wisely at Velma. Velma Jackson has extracurricular activities to choose from. They have a good football, basketball, and JROTC Team. My favorite was the JROTC. JROTC at Velma can teach you discipline and you have lots of fun, especially during drill meets, parade, and summer camp. Overall I would recommend any child to attend Velma. Also Velma have increased in their History test scores thanks to Mrs. Locke. And their Math scores have increased thanks to former teacher Mrs. Parks.

Velma Jackson High School 1

Posted November 05, 2005
- a former student
I would not recommend this school to anyone. The students are very unruly and the teachers often have a hard time controlling them. The teachers are hardly ever available for help outside of school and often act as if they do not care at all.

Velma Jackson High School 5

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
This is very good school to attend all the students are very easy to get along with and they have fun and work at the same time. The students here are mostly into school spirit even though they get out of hand sometimes. But they get back on track. They're grades are rising more and they are focusing more on their work and all the students that attend the school love going there.


Velma Jackson High School 5

Posted March 02, 2004
- a student
This is an outstanding school for anybody's child to go to. You will learn a lot and have fun at the same time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Velma Jackson High School
2000 Loring Rd, Camden, MS  39045
(662) 468-2531
Last modified Velma Jackson High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Velma Jackson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top