Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
571 students|Cleveland School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cleveland High School
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a community member
First off, I think that most of the negative comments that have been given are frustrations from the poor performance of their kids not teachers or administrators. I am African American and a graduate of CHS. My mother and her siblings as well as mine attended & graduated from CHS. The staff of CHS are there to encourage and motivate kids whether they are black or white. That is the beauty of the school. Where a lot of problems come in is when your child is not shown preferential treatment. If you attend CHS, I guarantee you will work hard for every credit that you receive. If you seek help, help will be provided. In the graduation classes before mine, including mine & the year after, I know of multiple attorneys, doctors, nurses, pilots, and engineers both black and white. Like some previously commented, CHS prepares you for the real world!

Cleveland High School 3

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
Although the teachers are knowledgeable about the subjects they teach, the school lacks the technology that other schools offer. Without adequate technology, the students as well as the teachers will fall behind in today's society.


Cleveland High School 4

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
I have had two children to go to CHS. I have had two different experiences with CHS. One child excelled in sports, grades, and socially. I had no problems with CHS during her years there. She had classes that were challanging and some that were not. As with all schools, you have good and bad teachers. Then there is the flip side, my other child was not the social butterfly, not good with grades. I do not put all the blame on CHS, because school is what the child puts into it. This child had a learning disability that CHS did nothing to help her with. She ended up dropping out and getting her GED. Other schools she attended helped her by giving test orally, whiched helped her alot. The only real problem I have is with the counselor. She really is clueless.

Cleveland High School 1

Posted February 21, 2009
- a student
I absolutly hate this school. Most of the teachers are a joke (while we do have a few good ones). The prinicple is terrible and really doesn't do his job. The students are unruley. Also I read another review about blacks not getting their say.. I would just like to say to that: You are wrong. We have a black history month program for one so that's completely untrue. Blacks are the ones that are in trouble the most and the most disruptive. It's not the fact that they are black that they get in trouble and make bad grades. Majority of the 'smart kids' are White and Asian. Call it what you want but it's not the administrations fault if people's children will not mind and do their work. I would not recommend this school. It's mediocre on the classes and most of the focus is on sports.

Cleveland High School 3

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
Teachers do not communicate with the parents as they should. Principal tends to think he can talk himself in or out of any situation but it's transparent and only makes him look foolish. He is NOT a man of his word. (What kind of educator would release an open house agenda with grammatical errors?) Most parents dont know about school events because parent meetings are not open to all parents--just those that are in the cliche.


Cleveland High School
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
i went to chs at the beginning of this 08-09 school year but only stayed a month but was treated with respect by all the teachers there, they all treat you like you are human and not there just for getting the school money . they help you and work you to where you need to be and they always show you your help when you the guidence . the principal is the kindest , but strictist principal i have ever had.

Cleveland High School 2

Posted May 28, 2008
- a community member
they are not fair toward the children, they make it appeared no one are smart but the white kid, since I been attened their graduation, not one black child had to say anything during class night or grad. cleveland high what is wrong, Teachers please care about all the children, treat each one as if they are your own, you never know when one of them might have to do something to help you, believe me we are never above help

Cleveland High School
no rating

Posted March 19, 2008
- a parent
Been a parent at CHS for 6 yrs- one child already graduated from CHS. Most of the teachers are wonderful- some need to go. Leadership is weak- counselor is less than desirable- parents are great- many sports and extra activities available. Academics are ok for the most part.


Cleveland High School 4

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
I have a daughter that just graduated form CHS and a daughter in the 10 th grade at CHS my experancehas been very good with this school the teachers have showed they care for my children education.

Cleveland High School 1

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
Don't let this school's test scores fool you! All the focus has been taken away from academic excellence and placed on teaching to tests. Before you send your child to school here, think twice about the type of environment in which you want your child educated.

Nearby schools

Cleveland High School
300 West Sunflower Rd, Cleveland, MS  38732
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (662) 843-2460
Last modified Cleveland High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top