Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Side High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 337 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

This school is a school that puts education first. No matter the race, the smarts, or the religion, we still teach and educate your child to the buest of ou ability.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2009

I feel like this is a great school. It's up to the students to make the most of their education. The ESH choir is astonishing. It has been hard for African Americans in history. Education is important!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

I like this school I rate it as a 4 even though they may fight a lot this is a good school. Why? Because they let the students wear what they best feel comfortable in and I like this school a lot even though they may need to get the school level up.....


Posted April 12, 2009

I think my school has come along way including our wonderful principal Mr. Robey! I am a student at Eastside High School and I sing in the ESH Choir and my school is in an amazing transition, we learn more and have different techniques in learnig. Majority of the students are over acheivers ( i feel personally) but sometimes in life we as people are given reputation in life that are not true at a point in time , however as time progress we start living to those reputation. Our school is not a bad school it is fill with wonderful children who have a purpose in life and need support and not someone putting them down, which most of the time that is what is happening. Majority of our teachers strive to do their best to give us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2009

I have a daughter that attend this school. I feel that she is getting the best education their possible.The teachers are well education in their area of teaching.She is in the band and choir at her high school.She was well prepared for the Biology 1 Test, which she did well on this State Test. I would not let her go anywhere else but Eastside High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

East Side is a wonderful school. I enjoy the students as well as their parents. I wouldn't want to teach anywhere alse but at Dear Old East Side.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 20, 2006

I attend East Side High School and it is a okay school. The teachers there are wonderful and they love to help you wtih more than your school work. I dint like it at first but it is okay when you get use to it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2006

Coach Brady is a wonderful principle. He is continuosly monitoring class room making sure that the teachers are doing there jobs. He always stops by to give the class an ethical speech. It seems as though is only worry is for the well being of the school and the students who attend it. I am a sophmore at East Side High School and I must say that it has been wonderful being under his leadership. I personally love to hear him talk and give speeches. He does a great job at it. I have learned a lot from Coach Brady and I hope that he has learned a lot from me. ~Shera Phillips
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

First, I would like to start off by saying that EastSide is a very good school. There are many changes that have taken place since Coach Brady has became head principle. He really knows what he is doing unlike that last principal. Coach Brady Make school not only good for learning ,but he has also added extra fun to school. Like Funtagous Friday and Mystery Monday. He also let the student have dances that are safe and enjoyable. The school has never been better so just keep up the good work Mr. Brady. Thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2005

East Side is the best school that I have been to and I really am beginning to enjoy it even more. I like all of the 9th grade teachers and all of the activities that Principal Coach Brady have us doing. He is an awesome principal and he take good care of his school and the students and staff at the school. He will let no hurt, harm, nor danger come near the school. I think the district did a good job by hiring Coach Brady as our new head principal. He real knows how to work with the kids.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 0%
White 0% 46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Lucy Seaberry Blvd
Cleveland, MS 38732
Phone: (662) 843-2338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cleveland High School
Cleveland, MS


Bayou Academy
Cleveland, MS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT