Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clinton High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

My daughter will be attending this school once we relocate from out of state. In reviewing all of the high schools available to our new address, I found that this school would better prepare her for college. After talking to nearby neighbors, I am convinced she will continue to succeed. While meeting all standards of required testing that will allow her to develop responsibility for her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

Wonderful school environment! My child went to school here after years of homeschooling. I had no reservations with him there. The teachers were excellent and helpful, but yet fair. The administrators do all they can to help students do their best also. There was plenty of opportunity for parental involvement and lots of caring involved parents doing what would best support the students. My son's 3 years there were very positive. Love the Clinton school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Genuinely excellent school! I've taught at two schools and the former was considered by be an excellent school as well. Clinton blows other schools I've experienced out of the water. The pass rate for the AP exams are phenomenally good and many AP classes are offered. I wouldn't teach in ANY other district in MS for $10,000 more a year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 1, 2011

Clinton High School in Clinton Mississippi is not a good school for students. They do not provide what is vital for a students education, they don't have good staff (Some teachers are ok), and the admins are terrible, they do what they think is good for a students education when really it's not the best option, and they don't listen to the parents decisions on what they want for their kids education, the school will recommend something to the students parents and tell them that it's the best choice and the one that should be done which makes the parent agree, and it ends up not being the best option. The school takes most of the things that should be decided by the parent into their own hands. I would not recommend this school to any parents and students, please go somewhere else, if you want the best for your childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I have had 2 children graduate from Clinton High School. Neither were considered 'favorites' in the classroom, but both were hard working and involved students. They got an excellent foundation for college and life in general. One child is in graduate school in engineering at a well respected major university in another state. The other will graduate with honors from college this spring. I am thankful that we had such a good public school option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

Clinton High School is a great school that gives you a great education. The teachers care about their students and will do anything to help them learn and have a great future. This school aslo helps prepare their students for college which is great. The principle there always knoes what to do in a situation and how to keep his kids happy. I really rec recommend this schoo.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

Clinton has an overall good school system. I do agree that teachers & coaches play favorites as they have for many years, this is nothing new. I feel we should have a R.O.T.C. program for our students to compliment the other activities offered. This program would help our students excel in leadership qualities and further enhance those students that chose military careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

Clinton leaves alot to be desired. They put up with harassment by students, they do not care about the special education program. The programs they have are wonderful if you are the select few that the coaches, choir directors, or other leaders favor. The special education teachers at the high school do not have adequate teaching material and have to deal with behavior problems in children that are put in the program because of discipline problem and not true disabilities. This is added stress to the child that already struggles. Good Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I will be glad that my child is graduating this year. Some of the teachers are very rude to the 'outside' kids and have favorites, and the harrassment of the students is horrible, and the administration barely does anything about it. My daughter has asked for help on her work and the harrassment, and has received little, unlike the 'popular' kids at the school. I am glad that she is the last one of my family going through Clinton Public Schools, because they all seem to be jerks. The superintendent also is hard to work with. You can't favor some students and single out the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Clinton High School is a wonderful school with a wonderful learning enviroment. The school officials are very strict on following rules and there are no acceptions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2005

Clinton not only ranks highly in academia, but is also very competeative in athletics as wells as the arts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Clinton Public Schools are the best in the state of Mississippi. You won't find better administrators, teachers or students anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have been very pleased overall with the system. Our superintendent is very involved and parents feel they can discuss anything with very principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

362 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
89%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 50%
White 42% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Arrow Dr
Clinton, MS 39056
Phone: (601) 924-5656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT