Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Coldwater High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2010

As an employee at CHS, it should be known that our students strive to be their best daily. CHS has had more 2008 and 2009 graduates enter training after high school (college, university, military, trade school) than any other high school in the county. CHS has the highest graduation rate in the Tate County School District.


Posted January 7, 2009

I am currently attending Coldwater High School and i have to say that it is a great school. YES we do learn. I've been attending Coldwater all my life and i've been on Honor Roll and Principles Lists all up and down my years of school. Not only do we learn we have the best basketball team it is. All other underachieved schools,students,andparents can hate all they want because i know for a fact that i learn better in a small school wit a small class. I get the help i need everyday. its not the teachers, its the students that dnt want to learn that makes it hard for a hard workin student like me. Jalisa Mack
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2008

I ahve to disagree that the olny great things going on at CHS ar ethe drumline and basketball team. I am from the heart of the MS Delta and moved here specifically to teach at Coldwater High School. I also have a child who attends Coldwater High. I believe Coldwater has the potential to become one of the greatest small schools in this area, under the direction of Ms. Galliger. It would help greatly if we could get more community and parent involvment. These children need a strong hand to lead, they need to be reminded of their potential and respect for those who choose to educate them. Unfortunatley that is not something we see within most of the student body at Coldwater.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 19, 2007

The only thing good about Coldwater is the basketball teams and the drumline


Posted February 14, 2007

I currently teach at Coldwater High School and must say that it is a joy to come to work everyday. The students are eager to learn and better themselves. I am aware of what is said about Coldwater High School, but I must say that it has changed a great deal over the past few years and students are truly being prepared for the 'real' world. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2006

I am a former Coldwater graduate and I have to admit that I would NEVER send my kids there. I went on to college and did very well but I really struggled at first because I was not prepared at all. There were a select few teachers that cared and actually taught but for the most part the teachers were there to merely draw a paycheck.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2006

I am a parent of a graduate of CHS and my child did/is having trouble in college. I have 2 more children who are attending CHS. I agree w/some of the things people have posted here and disagree with others. I personally believe it is the parents (yes, parents) fault it is the way it is. The kids there are aweful! There are a few select kids that want to learn and mine are in that group. The issue now is 'who is going to Strayhorn?' Yes, Strayhorn is the best school in Tate County, but are they going to be ready to be a 'full-fledged' high school? What sports are offered, band, groups? If you are looking for a great school, CHS is not the place to go, unless you as a parent get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

As an educator I love teaching at Coldwater High School. Over all the students are great and really enjoy learning. I attended the High School and now choose to educate there. The leaders, teachers, and students all strive to do the best job that they can and that is what is all about.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2004

I am a student at CHS and I happen to love it there. I have to point out that Mr. Crouther has done an excellent job as our principal. I believe that Ms. Gallager will carry on the excitement as principal just as she has done as vice principal. I would like to say something to the parents of other students from other schools...do not go by what you hear or think, go by what you see and know. Just take this from a chlid who does know and one who does care...Coldwater is a great school and a great place to send your children to learn and to grow.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2004

Coldwater High School might be a small school but I come from one of the top 10 schools in the country and even though it is a small school, its got great teachers that care. Ms. Johnson is one of the best teachers there and many teachers teach well. Its the kids who dont put in the effort to learn. I got to Coldwater High School, I see what goes on, Its not the teachers that Dont put in the work, it is definatley the students. They refuse to try then blame the teachers for their bad grades, Im just being honest. I love coldwater High School. Its easy to make friends and everyone lives by you so you know everyone at your school. Its like an extra family. Im proud to be a student at Coldwater High School and I dont care what anybody else has to say about that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2004

Coldwater High School does need some improvement, but I think some of the problems are with the students. Coldwater High Schhol needs to change their school curriculm to better prepare students for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2004

I am a full supporter of Coldwater High School. Teachers are teaching, and students are learning. Anyone who feels differently has not visited the school!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 18, 2004

This is one of the worst schools in the country! The teachers are afraid of the students and have no control. The students are some of Mississippi's poorest, creating an environment where learning comes after day to day surviving. Send you kids anywhere but here!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

671 West St
Coldwater, MS 38618
Phone: (662) 622-5511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT