Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-8 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Lauderdale Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2010
- a community member
I love this school. I learn more each day. thanks to all of the great teachers. this is just a great school!!!!

West Lauderdale Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
I have three children who attend this school. We are always very proud to say 'West Lauderdale' when people ask which school our children attend.


West Lauderdale Middle School
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a student
Have you ever stopped to think that one of the reasons that West doesn't have all of these extra-curricular activities and Fine Arts, and after school classes is because there is absolutely no funding available! You can't blame the school for that. It does what it can with what it has...and doen't even think that they give all the money to the sports. The new football field house is being financed by the community and the Touchdown Club. I'll agree that TAG isn't challenging but that doesn't make West a bad school.

West Lauderdale Middle School
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
I totally agree that athletics are the school's priority (not that I think that is a bad thing - I'm sure it keeps a lot of curious teenagers out of trouble). My children previously attended school in Ridgeland, MS - and there is a major difference - regardless of the level 5 status. Tag is not challenging to the students; no extra classes are offered after school (we were afforded the opportunity to take art, spanish, etc. after school if we chose.) They learned spelling words in the 2nd grade in Ridgeland that are being taught in the 6th grade at WLMS. WLMS is a good school - but it is not challenging.

West Lauderdale Middle School
no rating

Posted June 16, 2009
- a community member
If athletics is what you think of as extra-curricular activities, then this school will suit you very well. If you are looking for a school that offers extra-curricular activities in the arts, then this would not be a good choice as there are no activities in the visual or performing arts other than a band program.


West Lauderdale Middle School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a student
I graduated from West Lauderdale last year and I was more than prepared for college this year. West is by far one of the best schools in the state...LEVEL 5 in academics, excels in athletics, and very involved in extracurricular activities. I do understand that all schools have problems...yes...there are cliques but what school doesn't have cliques...cliques are a part of youth and teens and growing up. And as far as the administration goes...you couldn't ask for a better administration. They will help in any way possible, whether it's helping a student with a problem, helping a concerned parent, or helping a teacher. 30% of the teachers at West have Master's degrees in the their subject area and 15% of the teachers are National Board Certified. People pay much more to live in the West district and I can see why...I would recommend West to anyone!!!

West Lauderdale Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2009
- a student
This school is sub-par at best. Cliques are prevalent but that is generally expected. However, as a warning for parents who have kids who are a bit shy--either counsel your kids on social effectiveness or send them to another school. If not, expect their academic lives to be stifled and painful. I concur that those who have a problem learning (I do not mean a mental problem, I mean a motivational problem) will fall through the cracks at this school. The teachers here have their favorites and generally do not care to help poor students, whether or not the students have potential. Besides all of that West Lauderdale may be an above average school for Mississippi, but if you compare it with schools from across the country (not to mention schools in Europe) it is low in quality on every level.

West Lauderdale Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2007
- a parent
I am an alumni of West Lauderdale , currently my oldest daughter graduated this year and I have 2 still in school. I would not have my children at any other school!


West Lauderdale Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
West Lauderdale is an incredible school. We moved to the county from the city limits and I can't begin to tell you how pleased I am. My daughter is exceeding academically as well as athletically. WL is definitely the place to be.

West Lauderdale Middle School 3

Posted August 07, 2005
- a parent
I am a parent of two children who attend WL. I see a great division in class among the students. All students are not treated equal. My question is why have students tryout for extra activities if you already know who will make the teams. This is a waste of our time. Even if a child that is not in the 'click' out performs a child who is in the 'click',the child who is in the 'click' will make the team. I see WL as great place to learn, if you don't have a problem learning. If you do have a learning problem then there is little extra help. I think maybe the adminstration should pay more attention to the needs of all students and not just the students with more money. Let's see how equal we become with uniforms. Oh did you get yours at American Eagle or Wal-Mart?

Nearby schools

West Lauderdale Middle School
9916a West Lauderdale Rd, Collinsville, MS  39325
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (601) 737-8689
Last modified West Lauderdale Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top