Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
There is one teacher at this school who has bentout over backwards for my child and has helped him remain in school but the achool lhas decided she did more harm than good.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
When a child behaves inappropriately the school will just send them,like and if they believe the behavior is unmanageable they will require the parents to homeschool the child so they do not have to try and work with the student. They just wash their hands of the issue or else have aides that tell the student they are failures and they should just stay home.


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
The director of the special,needs programs shows absolutely no empathy and has no clue about how to work with children in the autism spectrum so I do not believe this school will help children develop empathy.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
The administrators in this school be little special needs students so howbcould they help my child develop fairness? The teachers lie about what another teacher does so they cannot promote honesty either.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 2

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
This school is not equipped to handle children with emotional disabilities and would rather send a child home than work with any behavioral issues. There are a few teachers at Cook who care but as soon as a child becomes comfortable with a good teacher, the teacher gets moved. The director,of special education for the entire district has no idea about how to work with children who have special needs. This is by far the worst school district for a child with any special needs, I will move my child to another school district as soon as I find another school for him in the area!!


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Cook is a Fine Arts Magnet School and offers dance, music, violin, art, and theater as special classes in addition to library, PE, and Spanish. The teachers and administration are great. They have a fabulous new playground. Parents are involved.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
I am a retired teacher from Cook Elementary. Children, that have gotten their foundation there, have continued to be successful students and adults.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 4

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
We moved here and looked at all the schools in the area, including all the private schools. We chose Cook as we were impressed with the curriculum and it's Magnet School status which is focused on the Arts. While it's not a perfect school, we are so far really pleased with it. The principal is great and the school communicates well with parents. I have visited the school many times during the school day and have never come across any teacher screaming at students (as detailed in the review below)


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 2

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
We moved here about 18 months ago, and have been very disappointed with this school, although we chose it as the best school in the area. If you walk down the hall, you will always hear one teacher or another screaming at the students. It is a very unfriendly atmosphere, and feels more like a jail than a school. Staff appear annoyed and do not appear to like children. If you child is a behavior problem, he or she may fit in. If you child is happy and enjoys school, they will soon be less happy and hate school after going to school in Columbus. If you are forced to move here, then home school. If you are not forced to move here, do not come. There are no good options for kids here. Stay away if possible.

Nearby schools

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
2217 North Seventh St, Columbus, MS  39705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (662) 241-7180
Last modified Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top