Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Cook is a Fine Arts Magnet School and offers dance, music, violin, art, and theater as special classes in addition to library, PE, and Spanish. The teachers and administration are great. They have a fabulous new playground. Parents are involved.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
I am a retired teacher from Cook Elementary. Children, that have gotten their foundation there, have continued to be successful students and adults.


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 5

Posted July 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 4

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
We moved here and looked at all the schools in the area, including all the private schools. We chose Cook as we were impressed with the curriculum and it's Magnet School status which is focused on the Arts. While it's not a perfect school, we are so far really pleased with it. The principal is great and the school communicates well with parents. I have visited the school many times during the school day and have never come across any teacher screaming at students (as detailed in the review below)

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 5

Posted April 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 2

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
We moved here about 18 months ago, and have been very disappointed with this school, although we chose it as the best school in the area. If you walk down the hall, you will always hear one teacher or another screaming at the students. It is a very unfriendly atmosphere, and feels more like a jail than a school. Staff appear annoyed and do not appear to like children. If you child is a behavior problem, he or she may fit in. If you child is happy and enjoys school, they will soon be less happy and hate school after going to school in Columbus. If you are forced to move here, then home school. If you are not forced to move here, do not come. There are no good options for kids here. Stay away if possible.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 3

Posted March 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 2

Posted December 07, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School 5

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School
2217 North Seventh St, Columbus, MS  39705
(662) 241-7180
Last modified Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cook Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.