Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5 & Ungraded|Public district
1,072 students|Lowndes Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Hope Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
You really don't know what the kids are working on it School because they don't see him much of nothing home for the kids to work with me anymore

New Hope Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
If you are not white they really don't want to hear nothing about your kids or anything else is all about the white


New Hope Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
Cuz the teachers are prejudiced and they really don't take time in public school to teach the kids anymore they always rushing through work

New Hope Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
We love New Hope Elementary School!!! We moved here just before my son's 1st grade year & we couldn't be happier. He is very advanced & his teacher was very quick to recognize his need to be challenged & has done a fantastic job of keeping him engaged & giving him challenging assignments. Mrs. Murphy is the best. All the teachers are so loving and ready with a hug for the kids as they leave school for the day new feel so blessed to have found this school.

New Hope Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
Please think twice about letting your child go to this school. Based on my experience it was horrible. Sad to say, but there are teachers that will not help kids at all if they are having difficulties academically depending on their race. Some kindergarten teachers do not care if a child master a skill or not. Every kid is different, so therefore they learn different. This school has lots of teachers who sees color of skin.


New Hope Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
I have one who has graduated and two in elemntary school. Overall the schools have been good. However, when the teachers let the students do what ever they want, then something is wrong. Students are being passed without much homework. As far as I can see, the one who will be paying the price is the student. The teachers in high school really do not care about grades, it is all about sports. True, teachers do care about them, if they are into some kind of sport and that is wrong. They need new staff from bus drivers, to kitchen workers, to teachers. I will have to say that there are some very wonderful teachers, and some that are not. Each of my younger children both have had a teacher that would not work with me no matter how much I tried to talk to them.

New Hope Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 07, 2008
- a teacher
I am a teacher at New Hope Elementary school. I am very discouraged at all the negitive feedback I have read about our school. The teachers at New Hope are some of the best that I've ever worked with. Some stay late into the evening or even come to school very early to make sure the students here have a great education. I know that we live in Mississippi and that our state is low academically, however, most of it is due to state policy, not the faculty and administration at our school. We just have to do the best with what we have been given. I have also worked in the inclusion programs in our school and have seen children benefit tremendously from it. Most teachers at our school will bend over backwards to help speacial needs children learn in the best way they can.

New Hope Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
I have to disagree with the poster regarding special services. My son, adopted internationally at age 3, has some learning problems. In his three years at NHE, I have been very pleased with all his teachers and the special services he receives. I have always taken a very active role in his education also, and he has done well.


New Hope Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2007
- a parent
If you have a child with a learning disability beware! Our son is language impaired. After scoring low on many language test given by the psychometrist. We were told that he would be placed in special ed for a couple of hours a week. Speech/Language was not offered and the Principal and teachers were of no help! Get your child tested privately and then fight for the services he/she deserves. This school and/or staff will not help you. Your child will be the child left behind.

New Hope Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
This is my sons first year at New Hope. He is in first grade, so far he is having a great year. He has a very good teacher, very strict, something that he needs. Two thumbs up for New Hope

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Hope Elementary School
199 Enlow Rd, Columbus, MS  39702
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (662) 244-4760
Last modified New Hope Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top