Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mclaurin Attendance Center

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 544 students

Our school is best known for our alumni such as Faith Hill.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

My sons in 7th grade now I am a proud parent!Being able to send my son to a safe and educationally productive school makes me feel great for him!The teachers are wonderful, they're always there for him, and don't even get me started on how much he loves that.I remember when he went to Mendenhall he was terrible academically and sports wise he went there up until 5th grade.I always make sure to go to all of his games, because it love watching him play, and all of his friends play to and they're really good.Overall this school is one of the best schools in Rankin County its academically great, involved with sports, most importantly it's safe!After hearing about all about these school fights in places like Brandon, Puckett, and Magee I'm worried quite bit for his safety.It really scares me, I Iove him and I don't want anything to happen to him.It wasn't that violent at Mendenhall but I feel much more let at ease about my sons safety, they have great security and the teachers care so much about the students I'm not even worried!There normally are a lot of fights, but here you rarely see any!I highly recommend this school!Its a great place also a safe and happy environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

I am very proud of our school and community. McLaurin is a fantastic school and will only get better. Live Green...Love Gold...We ARE McLaurin. S. Rimes, Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

This school fails our children in every way possible. Staff acts more like children than caring adults- I honestly do not think they know how to encourage them or even realize their own behavior. My child has attended school elsewhere and here, the differences are astonishing. Also academically THEworse school I have ever been a part of...this school is appalling. Should be closed. ...this is all of our futures
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2013

Both of my kids have always been great students.Unfortunately of all the schools they.have attended this has to be the worst ! I will not go into details from bullying, staff gossip about each other and students So happy my children no longer go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

McLauin High School's staff and faculty go far and beyond the call of duty for their students. They want their students to succeed. I know of teachers spending their own money and using their own time to provide for their classes. A small school set in a rural area, Mclauin does not get the financial support from private business nor the tax money, like the city schools do. As a result, Mclaurin lacks in appearance and updated equipment. The small teacher to sudent ration is a plus for us. Less than 100 students in my daughter's class, they all know each other well. Mr. Lennington and the assistant principals run a tight ship and as a parent, I am pleased about that. As soon as you turn into the school's drive, you see male coaches, teachers and principals all out front on alert watching the parking lot and students unloading. Unlike the huge city schools, you immediately are aware of who is in control at MHS. Ms Watson is always patroling the halls and the students do not want trouble with her. If your child wants to learn and succeed, then MHS is a wonderful school. However, there is low tolerance for trouble makers and clowns. MHS - a small school with a huge heart 4 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

This school has very friendly people and it's a warm envornment. The teachers are very involved in the student life.If your kids ever have any trouble the teachers always contact the parents to let them know what their complications are. I went to school there and I'm very happy with my childhood education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

At McLaurin the principal is more worried about what color your hair is, how your clothes look, and pda. when they should be more worried about our education. I feel that we should be able to dress comfortable because I lean better when I am comfortable. I also learn better when I am listening to music. It helps me conentrate. The other day I saw a mother come to the school and raise cain because a girl had red tips in her hair. The thing about it was her tips were the same color as my natural hair color. The student had been wrote up and what I don't understand is if she is going to get wrote up for it why shouldn;t people who had blue, pink, green,or purple hair be written up? Stop worring about how we look and be more worried about our education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

I think this school has lost touch with reality and the basic principals of education. In my eyes the principal is more concerned with a students personal apperance and action than on the educational process. A great example of this is the fact that I was informed last year by a teacher that my childs entire 10th grade class was only on an 8th grade reading level. I feel that if the principal would spend more time concentrating on the educational process instead of a childs action in the hall or their apperance he would have more time to reflect on the educationl factors of how a school is suppose to be ran and the teachers would be able to spend more time educating instead of carring out his personal prefrence policies. What has this school become we refuse to educate a child because of their personal apperance?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

mclaurin is a very dirty school they need a new school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I have had 4 children in the McLaurin Attendance center , 2 are still there , 1 graduates next year . I have to say getting A's and B's they are doing well , and if they slack I get e-mails or phone calls from teachers so we can correct the possible issue . I give McLaurin an A+ **
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I have one child that graduated from McLaurin, and one child that will be graduating within 3 years. This school does is NOT adequate within the preparation for college curriculum. The principals (and a few teachers) seem to be there for tenure reasons only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

I rank this as one of the Best schools in the state....right up there with Nanih Waiya in winston county...! Quality instruction, Caring attitudes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

This is an excellent school. This is what school I picked for my kids. It seemed safe kind and very warm. I love it alot.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
94%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 46%
Black 23% 50%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school McLaurin Elementary School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Hinds CC
University of Southern MS
Mississippi State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Beta School of Distinction (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Scott Rimes
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (601) 845-1170

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Vocational education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Business management

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Mazzio's Pizza
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • JROTC
  • Key Club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • SADD
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
McLaurin Elementary School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hinds CC
University of Southern MS
Mississippi State University
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 Tiger Dr
Florence, MS 39073
Website: Click here
Phone: (601) 845-2247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakeside School
Whitfield, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT