Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Florence High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 5 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

My school is a wonderful place to be filled with exciting and ambitious students. I feel like my school can become better with its "Great School Rating" if we get just more "Great Students"
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2014

I have gone to Florence 11 years now, and I am about to be a senior. I absolutely love this school and I would not want to go anywhere else. The administration and teachers get along with the students really well, but most people who insult our school don't understand it's not the school it's probably them. I know first hand the parents are a big part of the problem. There was a student who was told to do an assignment and when he refused to do it, he was given a 0. Shocked? You shouldn't be, he didn't do what he was supposed to, but his mommy came to the school and complained about it asking why her kid was failing. Long story short, the kid wound up with a 100. The parents like to complain when they shouldn't. And people complain about us going from a 5 to a 3. Here's the thing, it's graded on improvement. Well when you're at the very top, there's no where to go but down. We can't improve because we are already so high. I'm just saying understand what you're insulting before you sound ignorant. Overall Florence is awesome and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2013

I am a former student (2005 grad). I am shocked it is rated an 8.... My reasons for one star rating: - Extreme disciplinary problems - No parent involvement - Teachers gossip and bully worse than students - I was so poorly prepared for college. I can count on two hands, including myself, the people that went to college and didn't have a child in high school. I can count even more that dropped out sophomore year. - I graduated with people, which I can still name to this day, that could not read! The school is the same because the superintendent (Google the Rankin County Superintendent), is related to EVERYBODY that works there.


Posted June 10, 2011

As a former student I must say Florence was one of my least favorite schools I have attended sure it has good things about it but acedemicly I found it poor there was no challenge when I transferred to another school I was extremely far behind the the other students the people tend to reject new students as outcasts the band program is very small and not known to keep a band director for longer than 1-2 years the athletics teams do not move into play-offs in my opinion this is just a school to get your child involved in extracurricular activities where they couldnt at larger schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

Like any other high school, there are drugs and peer presure, but comparing to the other schools my kids have been it, it is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I like this school. Sure, it has its problems, as does every school. The administration is caring and compasionate, as it should be. I actually think the principal is one of the best things about Florence High School. It is also hard to compare test scores from year to year since they keep changing the criteria for passing. They could use a new facility. The current school is old and small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Florence is a great school. The parents are very much involved. The band program is one of the best I've seen. Students seem to really love their school. I myself graduated from Florence and I really enjoy seeing my children enjoy their time as kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Parents find it difficult to get behind a school when the administrator continually denies that problems exist, and seems incapable of correcting the problems himself. There are morale issues at Florence among the staff. It is impossible to teach students when you have a principal who does nothing to manage behavior of the student body. Teachers become frustrated when students are sent back to class with little or no consequences for their behavior. Until the county office does something to correct this situation and gives Florence High School the leadership it deserves, my advise is to send your child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Parents that respond to this site really need to become part of the solution instead of the problem. Florence has been a level 3 school since the accountibility results were placed on the individual school instead of the district overall rating. Its true the district was rated a five but the scores at Florence have increased every year. Florence High School has many of the brightest students and teachers in the county. We rank in the top of the district in scholarship money earned by students and have had as many national merit finialist as any school our size. I think sometimes people need to get behind the school we pay our taxes for and support them instead of trying to find things wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Having had one child graduate from Florence High School a number of years ago, and a more recent graduate, I can tell you that the quality of this school has gone down considerably. This school has dropped from a level 5 to a level 3 under this administrator. In addition to the decline in academics and the athletic program, there are safety issues. There may be a disciplinary policy in place, but it is not followed and this has not been lost on the students. My advice: If you can afford it, send your high school student elsewhere until changes are made at the top level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

This school was a level 5 school and has dropped to a level 3 school. This speaks volumes. Most of the teachers are not teaching the student. Then blaming the students for the low scores. The counsellors are only concerned with the students with the highest grade point average. The administation has no concern for the students well being. A lot of parents support their children in their indeavors but does not support the teachers or administation. If you want your child to be ready for college this school is not for you. It is too bad students have to go to certain schools because of where they live!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

As a former student of Florence High School, I must say, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD send your child to a private school. If your child is not the best in his or her academic skills (I graduated with honors), then he or she will receive horrible teachers throughout his or her high school years. The advanced teachers are wonderful and very helpful, but the administration does not discipline... before any of you send your children to this school, please E-mail me at AmandaFHS2oo5@aol.com. I know my screen name says 2005 on it; the reason for this is I ended up graduating a year early because the administration is so horrible. E-mail me if you ever want to send your children here, and I will tell you about my own personal testimony of the horrors of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

I have a 10th grader at Florence High School. This is a wonderful school. The staff is wonderful to deal with. Also the administration continues to keep open communication with the parents, which in my opinion is very important if you have a high school student. I highly recommend this school to anyone that if trying to decide to move to Florence, MS. Denise Sanford
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 46%
Black 17% 50%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

232 Hwy 469 North
Florence, MS 39073
Phone: (601) 845-2205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakeside School
Whitfield, MS


Faith Academy
Pearl, MS



The Piney Woods School
Piney Woods, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT