Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northwest Rankin High School 4

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
NWRH is great about preparing the incoming freshmen, gettint them thinking ahead and knowing or figuring out what they want to attend college for and planning courses for that attainment!

Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a student
I want to let everyone know that Northwest Rankin High School is an amazing school. Also that the band participates in every activity that it is welcomed to. Yes every other extra ciricular activity has to pay for their stuff. But that still leaves little room for other students to talk about the 'closed minded band' is absolutly wrong. If people were to respect the band they would recieve more. The band is there for one purose and that is to entertain not to please the student section. And you can be in the band and be top notch for the past 2 years the band has 1 or more ladies on the homecoming court. I as a band member can say that we recieve no respect or appreciation from the student body. The acedemics are great but support for the band is poor.


Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
My step son is now in the 9th grade at this school and in the band. I have read the reviews about the PAST experiences with being at this school and extracurricular activities and fund raising. Well a new day is dawning and several business's in the Flowood / Reservoir area are stepping up to the plate to support the school and extracurricular activities such as band, dance team, cheerleading, sports, show choir, etc. So get on board or get out of the way. You can see the glass as half empty or half full. From here on out it is getting more full every day!

Northwest Rankin High School 3

Posted April 26, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Northwest Rankin High School 4

Posted November 09, 2008
- a student
i recently graduated from northwest. Pertaining to the band: First of all, ALL extra curricular activities have to raise their own money. I personally know that cheerleaders and dance team have to do A LOT of fundraising to get money for camp, outfits, and competitions and STILL pay a lot for it. I also know from personal experience a lot of the band itself is very close minded and doesn't realize that they are a part of northwest and not just their own band thats there to bring home awards. They need to be more open to suggestions and feedback and maybe they would get more support. As for the members themself.. they seem to enjoy what they are doing a lot and seem very proud; so, yes, the northwest IS a good place if you enjoy being in hte band. not if you enjoy being the 'top notch' at northwest


Northwest Rankin High School 4

Posted November 09, 2008
- a student
If a student takes full advantage of hte opportunities at Northwest they will be WELL prepared for college life. I recently graduated from Northwest and wish I would have participated in more extra curriculars there. We had great extra curricular turn out the year i graduated: cheerleader state champs, dance team state champs, soccer state champs.. i think there was one more. The student body is by far the best in the state and most supportive. I believe the school's success is a mixture of faculty and student involvement and relationships.

Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted September 27, 2008
- a parent
We have graduated 3 kids from NWR. All 3 played in the band, one was all state for 3 years. All 3 were in the upper 20's and low 30's in ACT. Two have gone on to get their college degree with the 3rd in college now and doing well. And the oldest has a masters and now teaches at NWR. As to those who say don't go to NWR if you want to play in the band because you have to spend of a lot money on band; unfortunatley that is the norm in any public school in Mississippi rather than the exception. We had at least one kid in the band for 12 years and my wife was treasurer of the band boosters for 7 years; so we know of which we speak. The bottom line is that it is easy to find things wrong. Look for the good.

Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted December 12, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Northwest Rankin High School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwest Rankin High School
5805 Hwy 25, Flowood, MS  39232
(601) 992-2242
Last modified Northwest Rankin High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwest Rankin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top