Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairview Attendance Center

Public | K-8 & ungraded | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Fairview Attendance Center is wonderful. We have great teachers that care about each and every student. Our campus is beautiful and we offer several things for our children to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

It is the best school ever.. I love the teachers and all there work they put in the school..
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2008

wonderful school with caring teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

Acedemics are great!!!Parent involment always encouraged. Principal does job to near perfection.Yet the I hear the kids talking about how they like their school,how they feel at ease going their. This is the way all schools should be. A welcoming environment with a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I am wowed by the parent participation at this school. I have my grand daughter in kindergarten here. Having raised 2 children in another state close by, I was used to apathy by fully 50% of parents concerning school functions. These parents care, they show up! Obviously, this translates into teachers caring more, also. FAC got the highest rating a school can get in MS this past year. According to the stats, my grand daughter is way ahead of where they say she should be. Not a lot of extra curricular activities, but we country folk have our own. This school is the best kept secret in north MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

I am a parent that firmly believes in a good quality education. The teachers and the principal at Fairview School have done an outstanding job of learning my three children that attend this school.I have been able to meet and communicate at any given time about the concerns I have had during the school year with the teachers and Mrs. McNeece.They have always allowed me the time and respect to give my views and opinion.Thank you Fiarview School staff for allowing me to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

This is a great school .The teachers and parents have very open relationship . Parents are encouraged to be involved with the learning process and are included as often as possible . The students are treated fairly and not shown favoritism because of who they are or what they have . More schools should be like this one .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

Fairview Attendence Center is a wonderful school. The acedemics are exceptional and the teachers care about the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2004

Fairview is a great school! My kids and I love it. It's hard to find a school where they actually care about the children and not who there related too. It's just too bad they dont go up to 12th grade. Thank you too all the staff for being so good to all these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

Both of my children are presently attending Fairview Attendance Center. They are in First and Fifth grades. This is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name and their specific needs. She is a great example of a leader. Thank you Fairview Attendance Center for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

24 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 46%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 50%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

66 Fairview Rd
Golden, MS 38847
Phone: (662) 585-3127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Belmont School
Belmont, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT