Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James School

Private | PK-6 | 326 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gulfport

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

St. James school is truly amazing. A very well rounded education without just a focus on testing is what you will find. A truly Christian environment. The teachers really do care about the kids. Music, fitness, visual arts, computer, Spanish, not to mention lots of opportunities for community service. This school is truly a family. I feel my kids are truly being prepared to move up to Jr. High level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

I just witnessed the Christmas program at St. James Elementary and was completely blown away! This was like a Broadway musical! I can't believe the children ranged in age from 3 to 11 years old. There was dancing, singing, costumes and a beautiful set. There was not a dry eye in the house when the children sang. Everyone walked out with a huge smile on their faces and good cheer in their hearts. We are from out of town but will make sure attending this annual program is a new tradition. Kudos to whoever was responsible for such a gratifying programl!


Posted December 6, 2013

St. James is a fabulous school! Not only is my child challenged academically, she is also taught Christian values and morals on a daily basis. She attends Mass monthly with her school family, which is very important to us. St. James offers Spanish, Library, Computer, Music, Art, and Physical Education. I feel that all of these extra opportunities afford her the opportunity to develop into a healthy, well-rounded child. The Principal goes above and beyond to ensure that the curriculum is challenging, that students are acknowledged for achievements, that students who need extra help are given that opportunity, and that we teach our students the gift of giving through participating in projects that help others in our community. Every time I walk through the halls to volunteer for various projects, every teacher is always teaching. They are friendly and seem to love what they do! For these reasons and many more, I look forward to my other two children attending St. James in the future. We are blessed to have such a wonderful school for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I can't wait for my children to finish this school year from St. James. I really dislike the Administration. poor leadership, poor school materials, tiny library. This school is comparable to public school. For paying that much, I am expecting the best education and catholic behaviors from the students however, students from St. James have been so races and disrespectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

We are extremely happy with St. James because of the interaction with teachers, many wonderful activities including sports and fine arts, and loving instruction that our children receive. Our kids are being taught to think for themselves, respect others, and to be considerate of their classmates. There are numerous opportunities for parents to get involved with St. James including help with the Fall Festival, room Mom/Dad, sports teams, working with the play, Christmas program and spring program. Of the many reasons that we love St. James, the greatest is that our children are learning the Christian faith every day, through religion class, attending weekly mass, and through service activities - in short, they pray at school each day. That's something that you cannot get at public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

St. James Elementary is wonderful place to enroll your child. The only time an "F" is acceptable is for fun, family and fellowship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

This is our second year at St. James & we couldn't be more pleased with our decision to send our children to this school! The deciding factor for us was all of the extras that St. James has to offer other than academics- Spanish, computer, religion, sports, Lego league, art, drama, dance, band, etc. I love that they will be able to experience all of these activities in elementary school! Also, the faculty and staff are absolutely wonderful! Our girls love going to school, and we love sending them to a place where they are happy & where they are known on a first-name basis with everyone there! St. James has become a second family to us! For what my children are getting out of St. James, the cost is definitely a deal, but worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Terrific school with fantastic teachers. My children are getting a top notch education. I also love the fact that the morals and values we teach at home are being reinforced at school. This school is less expensive than many local private schools but would be well worth it even if it were more expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Wonderful school with amazing fine arts program. My kids love it and are getting a great education - always scoring over 90th percentile in national tests. In addition, since they have been at St. James, they've learned so much from the music and art program. Before we moved to Gulfport, we were paying well over twice as much for private school. This is an incredible value!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

It's so nice to have a school that isn't just worried about test scores. The teachers are actually able to teach the students instead of teaching them how to take tests. The teacher/pupil ratio is small and the teachers and staff are very involved and I feel my children are being challenged in all subjects. They even have art, music, Spanish and computer which a lot of schools no longer have anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

St. James is a fabulous school. The teachers and staff truly care about each and every student. The curriculum is fantanstic and challenging. My children love going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

This school is a year behind public school you would think after paying so much they would be ahead of the public schools. I would never go back to this school even if they paid me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

The teachers are great. Wonderful environment. The staff really cares for each child. Spanish in kindergarten. One thing I appreciate is how the staff goes out of their way to make the kids have fun and learn. It amazes me the special things that they do for the kids (my daughter will come home and say mommy gues what...An indian ame to lunch today). Outstanding school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 41%
Black 4% 54%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Biloxi
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

603 West Ave
Gulfport, MS 39507
Phone: (228) 896-6631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Westminster Academy
Gulfport, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT