Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5 & Ungraded|Public district
611 students|Gulfport School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anniston Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
This is the 2nd year for my children at Anniston. My children are in 1st and 2nd grade this year. In an effort to be brief, I'll keep my complaints to the current year. Homework: My 2nd grader was given the exact same homework as my 1st grader for 2 whole weeks. His homework is graded weekly. Since I work 7am - 3pm, I reached out through notes in his binder to the teacher. They were unanswered. I tried calling the office. They told me to email the teacher. The emails were unanswered. I figured after she graded the weekly assignment that surely she would respond to my notes or even realize. No. A 2nd weekly assignment was sent home and guess what? It was the exact same hwk as my 1st grader's again! Frustrated with the lack of communication by the office & teachers, my husband visited the school to find the entire 2nd grade had been issued the same workbooks as the 1st grade. Apparently no one noticed. Surprised? I was - why did we have to go up there for this to be corrected? I called & wrote notes the week before. Why wasn't it noticed when the teachers graded the papers? School Pictures: I purchased fancy outfits down to new shoes and all for my little ones to take photos that we could send with our Xmas cards to family & friends across the globe. (we are a military family) We received notices from the office that teachers, including my children's, would not be returning, shortly after pictures were taken. We were assured there would be a smooth transition and the reasons they were leaving were "of a personal nature". The pictures were never sent home. Mailing deadlines came & went for guaranteed Christmas arrivals. Photos were going to be a framed gift for the grandparents. I called the office. They were surprised and told me that after over a month of waiting, I should have received them 2 weeks ago. They told me to call the photographer, who was shocked the school didn't have them and then mailed them to my house. A month after receiving them in the mail, the school sent them home with my children. (In late January). Science Fair: I requested registration forms from both 1st and 2nd grade teachers.. The response was "1st graders are not required to do one." and "My team does not know anything about this." I had to literally beg the teachers for my children to sign up. This school is the epitome of why so many parents choose private schools.

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
Anniston Avenue is going through some serious growing pains and the less kids that attend, the better. So, you probably want to find a different school. Now, if I haven't scared you off yet, and you're still interested, I must admit I love this school. This is the second year my children have attended and I'm happy with everything I've seen. They're willingness to challenge the gifted and lift up those who are struggling, is phenomenal. Your child will receive customized education which will help challenge their minds and keep them on track. Parent participation is strongly encouraged at school. Whether it's with helping your child to succeed, meeting for conferences or assisting with PTA events, the school wants you to be part of their academic community. What better way to stay connected to how you child doing than to be at the school, helping them help your child? Lastly, this school takes academics seriously. There aren't many parties or celebrations, and when there is, it's all academics based. When your kid walks in the doors, they're made aware it's time to get to work.


Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
My children have gone to Anniston since kindergarten. We recently moved due to a military transfer and leaving anniston was the hardest about the entire move. Mrs. Jackson was my daughters kindergarten teacher in 2009 and mrs. Bloom was my sons kindergarten teacher this year and they both have paved a very concrete educational road for my children. Parent involvement is a must at this school! They promote is and I can say that I'm very happy for that. It keeps me in the loop and if I have any questions I can text or email my children's teachers! Dr. Payne is the most involved principle I've ever seen! I love and adore her! She knows every single child's name and is always walking around checking on the teachers and students. I would recommend this school to anyone! The entire staff is amazing.

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
Where do I begin? I transfered my kids into this school and I could not be happier...WOW!! Anniston has the absolute BEST teachers who are patient and caring. My children couldnt be happier. Gulfport School District really pushes these children but are also there to help them any way they can along the way. We are a Gulfport School District family FOREVER!!! Thank you AAE.

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a community member
This is an outstanding school! They are focused on meeting the Common Core Initiatives. The staff at the school works hard to insure all of the children get a quality education. When I visit this school the children are having fun, engaged in learning, and working hard.


Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a teacher
Anniston Elementary is a great school with a dedicated staff that really cares about the students. I appreciate the extra mile that the staff puts in to support the students. I work in the finance department and we do everything we can to support the staff so that students can be successful. Gulfport Schools works to ensure that all resources are utilized effectively and efficiently to provide a quality education for every student.

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a teacher
The cafeteria staff serves good nutricious meals and the kids love it because we have great cooks and staff.

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a teacher
Anniston Avenue Elementary School display a positive attitudes towards the faculty as well as the students!


Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a teacher
At Anniston Avenue Elementary we have the best prinicipal in the Gulfport School District and our students are very well disciplined!

Anniston Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a teacher
Anniston Elementary has a very caring staff, they are very interested in there students achieving there best and incorporate other activities so that the learning process does not bore the students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anniston Avenue Elementary School
2314 Jones St, Gulfport, MS  39507
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (228) 896-6309
Last modified Anniston Avenue Elementary School is a Public school
Top