Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bayou View Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 748 students

We are best known for academic achievement.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2013

Bayou View Middle School is an innovative school that supports stakeholder involvement and prepares the students for college and career readiness.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2013

Bayou View Middle School is a leader in engaging students for academic success. I would reccommend this school to anyone looking for a rigorous curriculum that will challenge every student.


Posted April 22, 2013

BVMS is changing education! We focus on integrity, academics, relationships, and 21st century skills. We care about our students' success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

This is an excellent school. Great teachers and staff. Would not want my child to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Love this School! Pushes learning through ENGAGING activities! Teachers also have FUN doing their job!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

Excellent school with a great staff. Everyone puts education and the safety of students first.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

This is an awesome school. Teachers work hard to help each student become the best they can be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

BVMS This is an outstanding school! They are focused on meeting the Common Core Initiatives. The staff at the school works hard to insure all of the children get a quality education. When I visit this school the children are having fun, engaged in learning, and working hard.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

I am privileged to be surrounded by colleagues who truly care about kids. We work hard in striving to inspire students to become independent learners and problem solvers in an atmosphere that is caring and compassionate. We have high expectations of our students. Parents are supportive and appreciative of what we do for their children. Great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

My son, who is AD/HD and ODD attended this school, and I couldn't be more thrilled with the results! The teachers and administration work hard to ensure that the children's needs are met and that they are challenged. The school facility, although not new, is ALWAYS spotless and inviting and the children WANT to be there. That is more than half the battle if you ask me! Not only are the academics outstanding, but there are extracurriculars in which students can participate as well. What a great job BVMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Gulfport school district is a wonderful place to work! They staff really cares about there assigned duties. They are loyal, dependable and trustworthy!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

The Bayou View Middle School has great potiental and allows you to better yourself with the great programs within the school district!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Bayou View Middle School is a great school academically! Everyone wants there children to attend school here! Great Staff and Faculty!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

The gulfport school district as a whole is a great school district! They strive for the very best for all! Faculty, Staff, and Students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

At Bayou View Middle School, the staff in the front office always greets with a smile! Alway so friendly!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Bayou View Middle School has an awesome choir program. Being the parent of a child that has been in the choir throughout her middle school years, I have never complained!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I love working at Bayou View Middle School, the people I work with are awesome, my cafe manager is great to work with as well!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

My daughter attends Bayou View Middle School and loves it! BVMS challenges her while maintaining a caring and compassionate atmosphere. The lessons and projects that she is assigned, offer a wide range of learning styles and are preparing her to become a lifelong problem solver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

BVMS is a wonderful school that has devoted, professional teachers that encourage each student to perform to their greatest ability.


Posted August 8, 2010

I completely agree with ". I think this school is more concerned with strictly enforcing every rule emagineable, than actually teaching students what they need to learn to become productive adults. I want my kid to taught, not policed. He's willing to learn anything, just teach him something new". Plus they give the students extra grades for things they don't control, like "bring in a ream of paper and you get an extra A" or "If your parent comes to Open House, you get an extra A". It's ridiculous!! My child earns A's & B's and is bright, friendly, and respectful. But this school gets ridiculous on the amount of energy they put into policing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

260 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 46%
Black 36% 50%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School (2008)
  • Mississippi Star School (2010)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Bryan Caldwell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (228) 867-1967

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gulfport High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

212 43rd St
Gulfport, MS 39507
Website: Click here
Phone: (228) 865-4633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westminster Academy
Gulfport, MS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT