Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Love the teachers!!!! They take the time to listen to your chikd as well as the parent...and always has the best interests for your child. My granddaughter has been there this is her 2nd year... She is in the Academy class. And Mrs.Perkins is great!!! She knows it can be a little challenging for the children and she goes the extra mile to make sure they understand!!!! I'm there every Friday eating lunch so I know alot of the teachers as well as cafeteria workers and they are just the best!!!! Couldn't ask for a better school for my child to attend. ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The faculty at Central Elementary work very hard to provide a good education for the students of our community. The teachers go above and beyond offering special clubs, tutoring, and educational activities. The school also provides music, art, library, pe and computer classes. As a teacher of music, the administration provides me with the latest technology that many music teachers do not have available to them. Our district supports the arts in a time when many districts cut these programs due to budget constraints. The Gulfport School District sees the value of a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

The Gulfport School District makes decisions based on what is best for children. We inspire students to become productive citizens and life long learners. What a great school district for students to attend when the attention is placed on their success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

This school takes pride in providing a quality education for each student. The teachers and staff are exceptional!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I enjoy working for the Gulfport Schools District in the child nutrition dept, and my granddaughter is in the school system. She enjoys going to school here and she eats our cafeteria food which is nutricious. Alot of my family work here and they all eat in the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I am employed in the cafeteria at this school and I love my job because I enjoy the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I work at this school and love interacting with the children and staff. they are all so nice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I work at Central Elementary and I enjoy the Staff. Everyone is really nice and we are more like family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

This school has a great environment and the teachers truly love their job! As an educator, this school has gone above and beyond to make sure each child has been taken care of educationally and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

CES is a wonderful school that has devoted, professional teachers that encourage each student to perform to their greatest ability.


Posted April 10, 2013

The faculty at this school works tirelessly to help their students to achieve their academic goals and to be successful. They care about their students and strive to help them become successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Gulfport School District is leading the state in common core state standards. They are always doing what is best for children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

The staff at Central Elementary are extremely kind and warm. Everyone from the secretary, to the custodial staff, to the teachers, and special service providers are helpful and make the school feel more like a home away from home. Holidays are decorative, activities are engaging, and classrooms are a place you want to learn in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2010

This school is so parent-friendly. I can go anytime and sit in class with my kids, have lunch with them, etc. There is a positive spirit that envelopes me as soon as I enter the front doors. I really feel that everyone there is concerned about teaching my children and helping them to be the best kids that they can be. The gifted program is awesome, the library is encouraging reading at every level and the principal is so eager to commend achievements from both teachers and students. Honestly, this school ROCKS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 50%
White 26% 46%
Hispanic 9% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1043 Pass Rd
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone: (228) 865-4642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Westminster Academy
Gulfport, MS


The Learning Center
Gulfport, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT